The Friday 56 (#4)

the-friday-56

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple.
Or join The Friday 56 on Instagram!
unlundun

#friday56 number four! I picked up #unlundun by #chinamieville at random for this post, and I’m so glad I did! If you love #aliceinwonderland , you should consider trying out this awesome #retelling

“They passed squat tower blocks, arches of brick and stone, the hotchpotch slopes of roofs. There were stranger things, too: sky-scraper-high chests of drawers in polished wood, spires like melting candles, houses like enormous hats and bats. Deeba pointed at gargoyles and pigeons on some of the houses, then started: some of the gargoyles were moving.”

About the Book:

Un Lun Dun What is Un Lun Dun?

It is London through the looking glass, an urban Wonderland of strange delights where all the lost and broken things of London end up . . . and some of its lost and broken people, too–including Brokkenbroll, boss of the broken umbrellas; Obaday Fing, a tailor whose head is an enormous pin-cushion, and an empty milk carton called Curdle. Un Lun Dun is a place where words are alive, a jungle lurks behind the door of an ordinary house, carnivorous giraffes stalk the streets, and a dark cloud dreams of burning the world. It is a city awaiting its hero, whose coming was prophesied long ago, set down for all time in the pages of a talking book.

When twelve-year-old Zanna and her friend Deeba find a secret entrance leading out of London and into this strange city, it seems that the ancient prophecy is coming true at last. But then things begin to go shockingly wrong.

Unfortunately, I read this BEFORE my days of review awesomeness started, so I can’t link you to my review.  I DID give this 4/5 Penguins, though!

Are you participating in #Friday56 ?!  Link me below if you are, or find me on instagram at betwixtthesepages !
Until next time, happy book-ing!
New Sig

19 thoughts on “The Friday 56 (#4)

    • It IS a strange book, but I’m rather fond of strange books so I absolutely LOVED this one! I’m just sad I didn’t take the time to review it after reading…maybe I’ll reread it in the future and give it a proper review then.

      Thank you SO MUCH for stopping by! I’m now curious which cover you have lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Loreen, and thank you so much for stopping by! So far, this is the only book I’ve read by her; I have a few of her others on my kindle waiting patiently for their turn, though! She always has such inventive titles–and such awesome-sounding plots!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (#36) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a comment