Blog Tour and Review: Chameleon Assassin

Tour Banner .jpg

Book Title: Chameleon Assassin
Author Name: B.R. Kingsolver
Genre: Urban Fantasy, science fiction, post-apocalyptic dystopian
Hosted by: Ultimate Fantasy Book Tours

the chameleon assassin.jpg
Blurb:

Libby is a mutant, one of the top burglars and assassins in the world. For a price, she caters to executives’ secret desires. Eliminate your corporate rival? Deliver a priceless art masterpiece or necklace? Hack into another corporation’s network? Libby’s your girl.

Climate change met nuclear war, and humanity lost. The corporations stepped in, stripping governments of power. Civilization didn’t end, but it became less civilized. There are few rules as corporations jockey for position and control of assets and markets.

In the year 2200, the world has barely recovered the level of technology that existed before the ice melted and the subsequent wars. Corporate elites live in their walled estates and skyscraper apartments while the majority of humanity supplies their luxuries. On the bottom level, the mutants, the poor, and the criminals scramble every day just to survive.

addtogoodreads

↓Buy Links↓

Amazon.com https://www.amazon.com/gp/produc
t/B01N2NVWP5

B.R. Kingsolver.jpg
Author Bio:1

I made silver and turquoise jewelry for almost a decade, ended up in nursing school, then took a
master’s in business. Along the way I worked in construction, as a newspaper editor, a teacher, and
somehow found a career working with computers.
As to my other interests, I love the outdoors, especially the Rocky Mountains. I’ve skied since high
school, with one broken leg and one torn ACL to show for it. I’ve hiked and camped all my life. I love to travel, though I haven’t done enough of it. I’ve seen a lot of Russia and Mexico, not enough of England. Amsterdam is amazing, and the Romanian Alps are breathtaking. Lake Tahoe is a favorite, and someday I’d like to see Banff.

For special deals and news about new books, sign up for my newsletter.
http://brkingsolver.us1.list-manage.c…
Visit her at:
facebooktwitteramazontumblr


bookreview

4Penguins
Quick Reasons: entertaining, complex characters; unique world-building; ASSASSINS!; tons of action and drama; snark and sass in abundance; I am SUPER intrigued; Libby’s voice is vibrant, distinct, and SO fun to read from!

Huge thanks to B.R. Kingsolver and Ultimate Fantasy Books for sending me a free digital copy of this title in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

ca-quote1

Okay, penguins–THIS was a super entertaining read! Let’s start with the simple things: the plot. There is SO MUCH action and drama crammed into every corner of this book, you’ll feel like your eyeballs are being tugged in several different directions trying to follow it all–and trust me, if you’re anything like I am, you’ll LOVE every second of it! The journey is intense, though also broken up by a measure of sass and snark I wish I found more often in my characters. (though to be honest, I’ve been finding a lot MORE of these sorts of characters in my books lately, so yay for that!)

Libby is probably one of the most entertaining, humorous voices I’ve read from in several weeks now. Granted, I haven’t had much time to read, because I moved and started a new job and WHO HAS THE TIME FOR THIS?! But this book sucked me in and threatened to throttle me until the very end; I found myself leaning on my reading gas gauge full-force, trying to figure out whodunit and put the clues together. I was wrong…and that was just as delicious as the read itself.

CA Quote2.png

B.R. Kingsolver crafted an entertaining, complex journey complete with a snarky, fiercely independent main character…who just so happens to be a mutant AND an assassin. I have to admit, when I started this book, I wasn’t sure I’d like it–assassins are fun and all, but not always my cup of tea. The fact that Libby’s sort of portrayed as a well-balanced antihero really worked for this read, though–and I loved her all the more for it, because it gave her character a bit more complexity than I was expecting.

I really, really enjoyed this book, and cannot WAIT to get my hands on the second in the series–I’ll definitely be watching for it impatiently in the future! The characters are well-rounded and surprising, the writing is fast-paced, and the snark is (just as all good snark should be) on point. I’d recommend this read to lovers of urban fantasy, assassins, and an overall good time. Put on your Kevlar vests and take the bullet, penguins–this book will leave bruises you’re bound to love!

ufb-tourbanner-for-yola

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour and Review: Chameleon Assassin

Leave a Reply

