Top Ten Tuesday (#41)

TTT

HOSTED BY: The Broke and The Bookish
DESCRIPTION:  Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Last week’s theme: Books I’ve Added to My TBR Lately

Find their latest post here!

But as usual, IIIII want to go a different direction ENTIRELY.  Instead, I give you:

Top Ten FIVE Mythologies/Mythological Creatures I’d LOVE to See in More Books

Image result for phoenix

The Phoenix

I mean…have you guys ever READ the mythologies around the Phoenix?!  Some SERIOUSLY COOL things could be down with them in books, so…why aren’t they BEING done?!?!?  Do I have to write everything myself?!  Someone, please, bite the bullet and give us something awesome!

Image result for selkies

The Selkie

I mean, okay–Selkie mythology?!  Is fracking TERRIFYING, penguins.  If you haven’t already, go find some on the webs and read–trust me, you’ll be sleeping with the lights on for a few nights.  But honestly, I can only think of one?!  book that incorporates selkies, and while I love it to death…Well, I want more.

Image result for sirens

Sirens

And I don’t mean the ones that save you from drowning and send you on your way.  I mean the TRUE sirens–the ones that lure you in and eat you.  Because… I guess I want more horrifying books in my life?!

Image result for voodoo doll

Voodoo Dolls

Anyone else think this would be the CREEPIEST BOOK EVAR?!  I nominate Stephen King for the job.

Image result for trickster

Tricksters

The episodes on Supernatural that play with the idea of a trickster are, admittedly, some of my ABSOLUTE.  FAVORITE. EPISODES EVER!  So it’s not that much of a stretch for me to WANT to see books take on tricksters, too.  Right?!  RIGHT?!  Gimme!

And just for funsies, the runner-ups include:

Golems ; Djinn; Kami; Medusa; Pegasus

Shush now, my needy little penguin heart!

What are some mythologies/mythological creatures YOU’D love to see more of in books?!  Have any recommendations for books with the ones listed above?!  Let me know!

Feel free to share your thoughts with me in the comments, or link me to your own Top Ten Tuesday!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

New Sig

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#41)

    • Right?! There are so many different ways to imagine them, I kind of just had to pick and choose which one I felt was closest for *my* idea of what a Selkie looks like!

      Thank you SO much for stopping by–and sorry about the creep factor of this post!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. One of the things I love about urban fantasy is the range of creatures you get in it. For djinn, try Sonya Bateman ‘Master of None’, for golems DD Barant ‘Dying Bites’, RL Naquin’s Monster Haven series has everything you can imagine in it like cool Closet Monsters, skunk apes, djinn, pookas and so much more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (#36) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a comment