To Fall For You: Overwhelmingly Disappointing

bookreview

To Fall For You

 

When Emma is shocked to the core by a surprise break-up, the sudden arrival of the ‘new girl at school’ sends her into a frenzy and pushes her down a journey of heartbreak and betrayal. Will Emma be able to overcome life’s hurdles and learn to love again?

After spending her life moving around and facing troubles of her own, Renée is glad to be in her last year of school. That is, until she meets Emma. Will Renée be able to find acceptance and friendship in her new town?

addtogoodreads

YA / Romance / Contemporary
150 Pages
Publication Date: January 1st, 2017
Get a copy here!

2Penguins
Quick Reasons: the blurb is a bit misleading; the plot moves WAY too quickly; SERIOUSLY WITH THAT ENDING?!; super confusing writing; Emma was just a BIT of a drama queen; I couldn’t connect with the characters or with this story, though I tried my hardest to

Huge thanks to R.J. Groves and BookTasters for sending me a free digital copy of this title in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

When I read the blurb for this title, I thought FOR SURE Emma and Renée were bound to end up together in the end…not caught up in some weird girl-hate jealousy thing. So when the book began and I realized what this was actually about, I was, suffice to say, pretty severely disappointed. Having read back over the blurb now, after finishing the book, I realize where I went so wrong…BUT STILL! I had high hopes for you, book…and in the end, unfortunately, those hopes were popped like too-full balloons.

 

The characters were interesting. I didn’t feel much of an emotional investment in any of them, honestly; Emma was a drama queen, Renée was a bit 1-dimensional, and the rest of the characters seemed to be place-holders or plot-pushers. The fact that Renée and Emma find themselves stuck in this weird jealousy competition over Kane only served to disappoint me more–I mean, I WAS that girl in high school. I fell for a “friend’s” guy and ended up in a weird tug-of-war feud with her. Looking back on it now, I realize it was a bit petty…and I can’t help but roll my eyes whenever book characters find themselves doing the same. Girl-hate is such a cliched and horrible trope, I just can’t handle it in my books.

tffy-quote1

There were a lot of really confusing moments throughout, as well–and I found myself, more than once, unable to suspend my disbelief long enough to actually get into and enjoy the story. Renée’s stint in the hospital, for instance, REALLY grated my nerves–mostly because I feel like some of the finer details in R.J. Groves’ writing were lacking research and medical “backup.” There were also some plot points I felt were “forced” or contrived merely to drive the story forward, instead of serving an actual purpose and/or making sense to the story itself.

 

Unfortunately, this was a swing and a miss read for me. I couldn’t connect with the characters, the story moved way too quickly plot-wise, and I spent a large part of my reading time feeling SUPER confused about what was going on. I was also pretty largely disappointed in how 1-dimensional the story turned out to be. Still…the cover is absolutely stunning, and there were some entertainingly snarky moments hidden in the murk! Also, just because this book didn’t work for me personally, doesn’t mean it won’t work for you–so keep that in mind!

10 thoughts on “To Fall For You: Overwhelmingly Disappointing

  1. I HATE HATE HATE it when blurbs are just weird and out of reality!!! You did used awesome songs in the review, tho, haha! I loooove Stranger and my heart always clenchs a bit when I hear “she used to be mine” >.<

    Like

Leave a Reply

