The Forgetting: I could have SWORN We were on Earth

bookreview

The Forgetting (The Forgetting, #1)The Forgetting
(The Forgetting #1)
by Sharon Cameron
Scholastic Press
403 Pages
YA / Dystopian / Sci Fi
Get a copy here!

BLURB:

What isn’t written, isn’t remembered. Even your crimes.

Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person’s memories – of parents, children, love, life, and self – are lost. Unless they have been written.

In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn’t written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.

But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, that will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence – before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her.

addtogoodreads

4.25Penguins
Quick Reasons: wait, this wasn’t set on Earth?! what even?!?!; awesome, well-written characters; interesting, entertaining plot premise; I don’t even know how to handle this book right now; so many unanswered questions, no pages left in this book!

When I first added this book to my TBR, I’m almost certain I’d taken the time to read the book blurb. I remember being super excited about the premise…but time has a way of settling in and making us forget, doesn’t it? When I actually sat down to read this novel, all I remembered of the blurb was that some sort of mass memory loss occurred. So basically, I knew absolutely nothing about what I was getting myself into. Good times, Penguins–as I’m sure you all already know, I am all about going into books blind!

TF Quote1

So if I told you that I knew, when I began this journey, that this book wasn’t set on Earth after some form of apocalypse… I’d have to call myself a humongous liar. Honestly, I was POSITIVE we were on Earth…right up until Nadia and Gray break into the cave and discover the truth. And I might be wrong, but I felt that perhaps this minute detail was left unknown for a purpose. I feel as if it might have been meant to act as a “shocking” revelation–and it worked, for me at least. So kudos to Sharon Cameron if that was done on purpose!

These characters are complex and well-written, though I felt we got a bit short-changed on certain plot points (for instance, Nadia’s dad–what’s the deal with that situation?! what exactly did he change about her/her family’s books?! WHY did he change them?!) Of course, this is probably partially due to who the POV belongs to–Nadia, for obvious reasons, wouldn’t necessarily have ALL the big answers. Still, certain things are left decidedly more vague than I’d like–though perhaps book 2 is meant to shed light on all the dark corners. I certainly hope that’s the case, at least!

TF Quote2.png

This was, overall, a thought-provoking and entertaining read, though a bit vague and gray on certain plot points. I’d recommend this to lovers of science fiction, dystopians set on planets NOT Earth, and spunky characters seeking hidden truths. I cannot WAIT to see where book 2 takes us! Tell me, Penguins; will you Forget, or remember?

3 thoughts on “The Forgetting: I could have SWORN We were on Earth

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour, Giveaway, and Review: The Knowing | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

