Blog Tour, Giveaway, and Review: The Dragons of Nova

DragonsofNovaTourv2

 

Dragons of Nova CoverThe Dragons of Nova
(The Loom Saga #2)
by Elise Kova
Fantasy / Steampunk / New Adult
488 Pages
Keymaster Press
Get a copy here!

BLURB:

Cvareh returns home to his sky world of Nova with the genius crafter Arianna as his temperamental guest. The mercurial inventor possesses all the Xin family needs to turn the tides of a centuries-old power struggle, but the secrets she harbors must be earned with trust — hard to come by for Ari, especially when it comes to Dragons. On Nova, Ari finds herself closer to exacting vengeance against the traitor who killed everything — and everyone – she once loved. But before Ari can complete her campaign of revenge, the Crimson Court exposes her shadowed past and reveals something even more dangerous sparking between her and Cvareh.

While Nova is embroiled in blood sport and political games, the rebels on Loom prepare for an all-out assault on their Dragon oppressors. Florence unexpectedly finds herself at the forefront of change, as her unique blend of skills — and quick-shooting accuracy — makes her a force to be reckoned with. For the future of her world, she vows vengeance against the Dragons.

Before the rebellion can rise, though, the Guilds must fall.

addtogoodreads

The other LOOM SAGA books:

The Alchemists of Loom

See my review for THE ALCHEMISTS OF LOOM (THE LOOM SAGA #1) by clicking here!

About the Author:

Elise KovaElise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she is not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media.

 

Find her on:

Goodreads | Twitter | Website

Giveaway Details:

· Hard cover copy of The Dragons of Nova by Elise Kova and a swag pack

CLICK HERE to go to the giveaway!


arcreview

 

4.5Penguins
Quick Reasons: YESYESYES let the sparks fly!; I love the dual-setting we have happening here, and how juxtaposed (yet so similar?) the settings are; so much danger and suspense!; I feel Ari lost a bit of her snark somewhere on the flight; Cvareh is still just as adorable as ever

Huge thanks, once again, to Elise Kova and Keymaster Press for sending me a gorgeous softcover ARC of this title in exchange for an honest review, and to Chapter by Chapter Book Tours for taking me on as part of this tour! This in no way altered my read of or opinion on this book.

DON Quote1

Once again, we return to the battle between Loom and Nova…and the battle is only just beginning, Penguins, let me tell you! In this sequel, we journey to the skies and the world of the Dragons–which, honestly, is almost more confusing than the world they overlord. While Elise Kova dips her pen in gold and weaves gloriously brilliant, beautiful imagery…I find that sometimes, my brain can’t quite follow the path she leads me down. I have a hard time actually SEEING the world I’m being thrust into. Which is depressing; as vibrant as Elise Kova writes, I wish I could better put myself into the settings.

 

However, these characters are just as snarky and entertaining as they were in the first book. I really, REALLY adore the growth we see throughout–not just from Ari, but from all the main players. I also really love that we’re given a glimpse into enemy minds; this really helped to ground me in the drama and strife. I was better able to “get” the motivations from each side, selfish as they seem at times. This also helped to answer some of my more prominent questions. Ari seems to have lost a bit of her snark and spunk somewhere, though–while her words and quips still bite deep when she lets them loose, I felt she was holding herself back in this particular journey. Cvareh, on the other hand, shows a ton of growth and adorable vulnerability. And Ari DOES show signs of vulnerability, as well, which only helped to endear me to her–though I did sort of miss her hardcore, stubborn spunk.

DON Quote2.png

I absolutely ADORE the worlds of Loom and Nova, and love how Elise Kova paints each–individually, yet somehow both juxtaposed and similar at the same time. Because honestly, these worlds are both facing the same struggles–a fight for ultimate power, a showcasing of foolhardy strength, a match striking into flames. So while they’re juxtaposed–in the sense that Loom is darkness and oppression, and Nova is light and “freedom”–they’re also surprisingly (or, perhaps, NOT so surprisingly) fighting the same battle. Sort of. Kind of. It might be a BIT of a stretch but it’s there, okay?! SO GO WITH IT!

 

I just…. AHHHHH! I am definitely hooked (even though let’s be honest, I was hooked from book one page one so this shouldn’t be a shock to anybody) and I NEED BOOK THREE GIVE ME BOOK THREE! These characters are quirky and snarky and so well-written. The growth we see in a lot of (or all?) these characters is just entertaining and astounding. AND CVAREH AND ARI MAKE THE CUTESTESTEST COUPLE EVARRRRR I NEED MORE OF THEM IN LOVE IN MY LIFE! I definitely recommend this series to lovers of steampunk/fantasy, unique worlds, and dragon-y dramatics (is that a thing? that should be a thing. let’s make it a thing.) We’re taking to the skies, Penguins; are YOU ready to soar?

chapter-by-chapter-blog-tour-button

Leave a Reply

