Kiss Me Softly–Right Man, Wrong Time

bookreview

 

Kiss Me SoftlyKiss Me Softly
(Kiss a Belle, #4)
by Cecilia Gray

Historical / Romance / YA
89 Pages
Gray Life, LLC
Publication Date:  February 21st, 2017
Get a copy here!

BLURB:

A brand new series from the author of The Gentlemen Next Door, praised for being a “delightful Regency romp… in the spirit of Georgette Heyer.”

Meet Seraphina Belle—the Belle Belle—whose face has launched a legion of metaphorical ships. Since her birth caused her mother’s death, she’s determined to be the perfect daughter. As a dowager duchess at the height of respectability, she is known for turning out perfect matches… until he threatens to ruin her perfect reputation.

addtogoodreads

4.25Penguins
Quick Reasons: and so we move past the events of before…and into uncharted territory!; this was definitely a case of “right man, wrong time”; I love that Sera is the Belle for firsts–it is somehow fitting; be still, my heart!; this couple is adorable

Huge thanks, again, to Cecilia Gray; Gray Life, LLC; and Xpresso Book Tours for sending me a free digital galley of this title in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

 

Once again, Cecilia Gray has taken my heart for a spin–and left it in emotional turmoil! There is an interesting justice in the fact that it’s Sera Belle who charts our way into new territory, as she was the first to set the ball into motion to begin with, all those years ago. It’s poetic, really, the youngest Belle paving the way–in more than one instance. And her story? SO entertaining! Out of all the Belles so far, I feel like I most connected with and felt for Sera. The fact that she had a snarky, sarcastic side to her helped to bridge that gap even more–and took me by complete surprise! Her reactions to and interactions with the other characters–and especially Christian–were both complex and enlightening.

 

KMS2 Quote1

I really enjoyed watching Sera come into her own on this journey. While there are a few things I’m still confused about from books past, I felt this was equal parts a gorgeous send-off to the first three books and an awesome new beginning. The characters and their relationships are just as complex and well-written, and I feel I learned several new things in the process, even while these events remained mostly “new” to me as a reader. That this was a relationship born of “right match, wrong time” made it even more believable for me–and more frustrating, as well. Mostly because I just wanted them to BE TOGETHER ALREADY!

 

As always so far, I’ve REALLY enjoyed this journey–and being able to watch it unfold from every sibling’s POV! There’s something to be said for Cecilia Gray’s work–she ensnares with just a few words, and keeps readers enthralled throughout. I still recommend this series to lovers of historical romances, complex but strong familial connections, and characters who pave their own paths (through life AND love). There’s a fight coming, Penguins; what side do you stand on?

Leave a Reply

