Blog Tour, Giveaway, and Review: Forbidden Dance

 

Forbidden Dance
(Lover’s Dance, #1)

by Deanna Roy
Publication date: March 28th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

She was hidden from the world. Then he arrived.

An emotional new novel from six-time USA Today bestselling author Deanna Roy

For four years, I’ve lived in almost total seclusion. Homeschooled, forbidden from social media, seeing no one other than the dancers at Dreamcatcher Academy, where I teach ballet to little girls in wheelchairs.

Then Blitz arrives.

He’s the disgraced host of Dance Blitz, a bawdy reality show where Blitz sleeps with as many dancers as possible while looking for his perfect partner.

At least he was. A few weeks ago, he got kicked off his own show.

He’s at my academy for a publicity stunt, and my wheelchair ballerinas are his ticket back into the public’s good graces.

I intend to hate him and stay as far away as possible. But when he looks at me, I can’t resist. Before I realize what’s happened, we’re sneaking into back rooms, dancing, kissing, planning dates away from the cameras and the wrath of my family.

But I’m afraid. I have a secret at the academy, a small, wonderful, terrible secret, and if I stay with Blitz, the world will find out.

____________

Forbidden Dance is a full-length standalone HEA, although fans who fall in love with Blitz and Livia can continue the series to follow more of their love story

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

 

Author Bio:

Deanna Roy is the six-time USA Today bestselling author of contemporary romance and women’s fiction.

She is a passionate advocate for women who have lost babies. She has several books on the subject, including her bestseller FOREVER INNOCENT, a romance about a couple whose baby is taken off life support at seven days old.

She has run the website PregnancyLoss.Info for fifteen years, including many large spin-off support groups both online and in person.

To learn about new releases, sign up for her subscriber list at http://deannaroy.com/news. She has regular giveaways in conjunction with major pregnancy loss events.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway


arcreview

3.75Penguins
Quick Reasons: an unsolved mystery/plot hole; deliciously dramatic, believably human; I just cannot EVEN with that early plot twist; adorable, butterfly-inducing romance; steamy, sexy scenes; loved the addition of dance; cute, snarky banter

Huge thanks to Deanna Roy, Chasey Shay Press, and Xpresso Book Tours for sending me a free digital ARC of this title in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

FD Quote1

Let’s start with the light and easy lifting first, shall we? These characters are SUPER adorable–especially together! I am, as I’m sure you all realize, a HUGE sucker for “bad boy turned good” stories. Unrealistic though this may be (I mean c’mon, a person only changes if THEY want to change) I find myself swooning on my penguin feet each time I run across this trope in my romances. I can’t help it, I suppose–I’m hopeless when it comes to love. BUT AS I WAS SAYING before I distracted myself… these characters are adorable and endearing and totally what I needed in a read like this. I loved falling in love with them, and contemplated more than once trying to shove myself into these pages to bask in the glory of their romance up-close and personal (I mean, seriously, who needs boundaries when love is involved?! Privacy?!?!?! What even IS that?! Let me just drool on you a little bit, okay?!)

The familial relationships were…interesting, to say the least. I was a bit confused, even at the end, about why her family–especially her father–reacted so harshly to her circumstances. It doesn’t make much sense to me that a grudge like this could be held onto for SO long–and with such determination! I mean, I get that perhaps her family at first would “crack down” on the rules a little and all, but…for four years?! To be holding on so hard?!?!?! When she’s older and officially an adult?!?!?! WHAT EVEN HAPPENED HERE?! It didn’t help that, in the end, I felt there was a bit of a plot loop or plot hole happening. We are told pretty early on WHY her family is so adamantly against her having a life…but…I don’t feel like we got the whole story. There seem to be moments where pieces almost fall into place…only to be ignored or shoved aside. Her father is pretty emotionally abusive and terrible throughout the entire read, but we’re never told exclusively what his problem really is. There were also hints that he somehow did something BEFORE “the issue” to upset the family, but…that’s also glossed over and not explained. Overall, I felt very confused about certain aspects of the backstory.

FD Quote2

The romance is believable and realistic, though, and made the butterflies dance in ALL the right places for this penguin reader (which is probably a bad thing. Have you seen penguins around butterflies?! It gets messy.) I fell in love with Blitz pretty early on, and adore the addition of dance into the drama. It made for a delicious, steamy, sexy love affair–and you all know how much I love my love, especially when it’s dramatic! The snark and sassy banter between the main duo was endearing and entertaining, to boot, which made this read even more enjoyable for this penguin’s fluttery heart.

This was, in the end, a dramatic, entertaining read…though a bit lacking on the answers front in certain instances. While I adored the main characters and their steamy love, I was a bit let down by the familial interactions and reactions. Livia has a TON of character growth throughout the journey, though, and I was tempted to applaud her when she finally stood up for herself and stopped backing down on what she wanted–you go, girl! I definitely recommend this to lovers of steamy contemporaries, complex and messy families, and realistic roMESSes. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for this duo in the future. Take your spot at the bar and point your toes, penguins; let the dance begin.

XBTBanner1

9 thoughts on “Blog Tour, Giveaway, and Review: Forbidden Dance

  1. BETH, YOU BAD PENGUIN, SPILL OUT THE POOR BUTTERFLIES AT THIS INSTANT! Take this pebbles instead, they are tastier! #what #trolling
    Loved your review and the songs choice as always, but this is another title that this little panda wouldn’t let go of her bamboo to grab >.<

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Wounded Dance: Seriously, Blitz is the Absolute ADORBS | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

