Blog Tour, Giveaway, and Review: Traveler

 

Traveler
(Traveler, #1)

by L.E. DeLano
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: February 7th, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

A teen writer discovers that every mirror is a portal into an alternate version of her life in this romantic YA fantasy by author L.E. DeLano.

Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all teacakes, pirates and fantasy lifestyles…Jessa is dying over and over again, in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it… this Jessa is going to live.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

 

Author Bio:

L.E. DeLano is a YA novelist rep’d by Barry Goldblatt Literary agency, author of the upcoming “Traveler” (Swoon Reads/MacMillan 2017) and lifelong writer. Her work has been featured on various online outlets and she lives in Pennsylvania with two very adventurous kids and two very ridiculous cats. In her spare time, she writes (of course) and binge-watches way too much Netflix.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway


bookreview

4.75Penguins
Quick Reasons: GAAAAAH, why must you hurt me, book?!; entertaining, complex, realistic characters; TIME TRAVEL FOR THE WIN!; there’s also a sort of mirror worlds/through the looking glass thing happening that I adore; I need book two, and I need it now–give it or risk a temper tantrum!

HUGE thanks to L.E. DeLano, Swoon Reads, Xpresso Book Tours, and Netgalley for providing me with a free digital copy of this title in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

TR Quote1

I think the wounded penguin noises I made after this read might have been loud enough to scare the entire WORLD, guys. Seriously. My heart? Broken into itty bitty pieces I could never hope to glue back together. I need book two…and I mean NEED, as in I will not survive without it, as in I am putting the fate of my poor penguin soul in its hands. Which is probably not the best idea, considering it doesn’t come out until next spring at the earliest. BOOK, WHY YOU HURT ME SO?!

Let’s just…try to be rational and coherent for a minute, okay? There is something deliciously “through the looking glass/mirror-worlds” happening in this book that I adored from the get-go. I’ve always been a sucker for alternate realities/time travel (perhaps that’s the daydreamer stuck in me?), so when I read the blurb for this book however long ago it was, I immediately knew I needed to read it. And as I hoped, I wasn’t disappointed in the least! The plot is intricately-woven and beautifully done, a crescendo of action and emotions that left me a sobbing wreck at the end. I mean…what more could I ask of a book?!

TR Quote2.jpg

The characters and their relationships/interactions are fairly believable and complex. While there were a few moments of trope to be found, the drama of the plot and the intrigue of the mystery enthralled me throughout…and the use of alternate realities helped, in a sense, to keep me somehow grounded. I LOVED stepping through the mirror with Jessa, in fact, and seeing the different ways she “altered” in each place. And Finn…. I just…. Let’s just not talk about Finn right now, okay? My penguin heart can’t handle it.

Basically, I NEED BOOK TWO! And I need it desperately. I think I left a large part of my heart trapped in the pages with Jessa, and I need the second book to retrieve them. Someone, PLEASE, give me book two sooner than next spring when it’s promised?! PLEAAAAASE?! I definitely recommend this to lovers of time travel/alternate realities, complex and entertaining personalities, and fast-paced enthralling action. Take a step through the mirror with me, penguins; let’s help save the world.

XBTBanner1

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour, Giveaway, and Review: Traveler

  1. Pingback: Reviews! Reviews! Reviews! | L.E. DeLano

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (#50) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

