Unpopular Opinions (Book Tag!)

booktags

Unpopular Opinions

I was tagged by the bookishly wonderful Anna @ It’s my birth write — thank you so much, you happy fanceh penguin you!  ❤

The tag was created by TheBookArcher. Here’s a link to the original video.

Now then…. LET’S WRECK IT, RALPH!

(I’m sorry, I spent like lots of hours organizing all Keith and I’s movies in alphabetical order this afternoon/evening.  My penguin brain is mush and all I can think of are movies now)

1. A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE.

How about I give you a few…and the reasons why I didn’t like them.  Because WELL-ROUNDED for the win!

Obsidian (Lux, #1)

 Rating: 3/5 Penguins
Quick Reasons: I’m sorry, I didn’t realize I was reading Twilight again?; pretty slow start; lots of snark, agnst, and teenage drama; aliens…sort of?; fast-paced second half; some pulse-pounding, sexy moments

(If I re-rated this book now, it’d be closer to 3 Penguins)

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)

Rating: 3.75/5 Penguins
Quick Reasons: interesting twists and embellishments to the ideas of “supernatural” powers; sometimes awkward, cliched plot twists; a few weird world-building blips; a story I cared about…with characters that I just couldn’t

(If I were to re-rate this now…I’d probably rate it closer to 3 or 3.25 Penguins)

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)

Rating: 3.5/5 Penguins
Quick Reasons: very slow beginning–seriously, it dragged; intriguing plot, unique cast of characters; I didn’t really feel invested in any of the crew; I wasn’t emotionally invested in the story, either, really; once the pace picked up, the read was quick; loved the addition of the photographs

2. A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE.

Again, I’ll give you a few…and the reasons why.

The Gracekeepers

Rating: 5/5 Penguins
Quick Reasons: lyrical, poignant writing; an intriguing, unique sort of dystopia; imaginative, vivid world-building and imagery; heavy, emotional prose; unexpected, surprising twists; small snippets of a lot of different perspectives woven into the two main ones—and it works; endearing, complex characters; lots to love in this read

Rating: 5/5 Penguins Everything That Makes You
Quick Reasons: I don’t… I can’t… WHAT did I just read?!; there might be tiny pieces of my heart embedded in the carpet where it dropped out of my chest while reading; why isn’t this book talked about more?!; beautifully heart-wrenching; I LOVE the juxtaposition of these two “what if” situations

Betwixt

This one doesn’t even HAVE quick reasons because I read it so early in my blogging career!  If you want to read my review on it, though, you can find it RIGHT HERE!

3. AN OTP THAT I DON’T LIKE.

Crimson Sky (Dark Sky #1)

 Claire and Riley.  I just… I was ALL SAWYER ALL THE TIME from the very first page, and I cannot for the life of me stand behind Riley.  I just can’t.

4. A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR.

I…read pretty much anything and everything these days, so… *shrugs* Iunno? The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling, #1)

OH OH OH WAIT, yes I do!  High fantasy.  High fantasy and I don’t get along very well.

I’ve only managed to read a few, actually, so far… my favorite being this one right here–

5. A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE.

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)

Gale.  I just CANNOT with that boy.  I don’t even know why.

6. A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO.

Ann Brashares.  Again, not sure why, except maybe my age? The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Sisterhood, #1)

7. A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING.

In.  Sta.  Love.

Also, “special snowflakes,” ESPECIALLY in dystopian/post apocalypse.  Not every main character HAS to be good at all teh things, okay?! So quit it!

8. A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

Sorry not sorry?  This just doesn’t really scream at me to read it, and there are WAY too many other books I WANT to read out there for me to bother wasting my time on something I’m pretty sure I won’t like.

9. THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?Beastly (Beastly, #1; Kendra Chronicles, #1)

This one!  Because…gaaaaah, I dunno, the movie’s just better IMO!

I TAG:

PandaPants

Deanna

Carrie Artrip

yourdaughtersbookshelf

By Hook Or By Book

 

16 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions (Book Tag!)

  1. I often have an unpopular opinion, but I try to keep it to myself. :-/
    I love reading unpopular opinions, though! 🙂
    I like it when people go against the flow, so you go girl.
    I follow a blogger named Liam at ‘Hey Ashers’. {I do not get the meaning behind the blog name.} He has been doing a feature where every week, he does a single chapter review of ‘Obsidian’. It is called, ‘Snarking Obsidian’. It is HILARIOUS! Every week has a post where, chapter by chapter, he shreds this book and exposes it’s ugly undertones. I think he is up to chapter 12, now. Here is a link to the chapter one, snark post:
    https://heyashers.com/2017/01/02/snarking-obsidian-chapter-1/
    Happy Reading!
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Percy Jackson books disappointed me. I liked the Gods, the action, the humour, but the MCs behaved like childish little brats from the second book on. It was all about their petty angst and fall outs. Gah, ruined the series. Gale annoyed me in the third book when he was all gung ho for revenge and stuff and not seeing what was happening. Instaluv is one of my pet hates in all fiction so I’m right there with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 389247689349032432930 years later…

    HERE I AM. PANDA PANTS. THE ONE AND ONLY. AND LATE.

    Loooved the tag!! Beth, you need to bug me to do this – I still own you the beauty and the beast (?) book tag from last year BECAUSE I KEEP GETTING LOST IN MY BAMBOOS!!! #what #pandalogic

    Loved your answers!! I totally agree with the instalove and over power characters. We need less of those!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

