Galentines Day with the Penguin

penguinposts

HELLO HELLO to all my loyal bookish penguins (and a big hello to my NONbookish penguins, as well, because I was raised to be polite and not turn my beak on others.  Or something like that… I don’t know, some of the things I was taught growing up have subsequently been lost–those pesky little politeness pebbles!)

“BEEEEEETH!” I hear you whining.  “Why did you call us here today?  What do you even WANT, how can you even have time for anything you’re working like a maniac and don’t have enough hours in the day for all the things you must MUST do so WHAT DO YOU WANT?!”

Well, if you didn’t know already…

TODAY IS GALENTINES DAY!

“Wha…. What even are you…. Have you LOST your beak completely, woman?!”  I’m sure you’re thinking.

BUT LOOK!

Galentine’s Day is a holiday Amy Poehler’s Parks and Rec character Leslie Knope created that occurs every year on Feb. 13, the day before Valentine’s Day. As Leslie herself explains on the show:

Related image

SEEEEE?!  It’s totes a thing.  And I’m here to tell you some of the EPICAL AWESOME that would be Galentines Day for me and my fellow bookish penguins, because YAY FUN!

First and foremost…. It’s hard to keep track of all those RSVPs when you’re a penguin, am I right?  You don’t have the nifty fingers to clench them in your fists; cell phones are a TOTAL NO GO around water; and messages in tuna fish?!  Whoever heard of slowing down enough to read your food before eating?!?!?! HONESTLY.

Having similar party issues?!  No worries–just check out Eventbrite !  They have all the tools you need to make your get-together sparkle like the bow ties your fanceh penguin mates should be wearing on Valentines Day (just for you, of course!)

Now then, let me introduce you to….

GALENTINES DAY!…Epic Penguin Style

As I’ve already said, this party of awesome would be open to ALL MY BLOGGISH PENGUIN PALS because seriously, even the fanceh penguins need to get together with friends? (I know, I know, this totes contradicts the title of the thing, but HOOOOONESTLY let’s just let everyone have all the fun okay?! OKAY?!?!)

To start the night off right, what’s better than HARRY POTTER COCKTAILS?!?!?! (yes, yes, this is aaaaaaall going to be fandom based.  Because BOOKS, you!  Books!)

Related image

I mean…don’t those just look DEEEELICIOUS?! (click the image to go to the webpage for recipes and tastiness!)

These would be followed by….

Discworld Delicacies

and

Discworld Desserts

I mean, obvs I won’t be charging my pals to eat the food, and I’d have to toooootally figure out my own menu because PLAGIARISM IS BAD FORM PENGUINS! … but DISCWORLD FOR THE WIN!  (No, seriously.  The menu would be Discworld, because I win like that)

AND ALL OF THIS EPIC!

Would be done while also enjoying the wit and wiles of one Elizabeth (Lizzie) Bennet, courtesy of my favorite youtube series of ever…

Related image

Because honestly, who could ask for a better night with the pals than this?!

(Also, for all the fanceh penguins groaning in the background…you’ve been warned?  Don’t come if you don’t wanna?  Or, you know, grab some brooms and go play Quidditch in the yard instead.  Your choice.)

Of course, we’d probably also do other stuff and things.  Like what?!  Well…these are just a feeeeeeew ideas:

Related image
 Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Babel Fish Bottle

Image result for alice in wonderland crafts

Alice in Wonderland “Drink Me” Necklace

Image result for disney crayon art

Fandom Crayon Art

I mean…. COULD IT GET ANY BETTER than all of this epic?!  Because I certainly don’t think so!

What are some of YOUR ideas for Galentines Day, penguins?  Feel free to share them with me below, and remember to go check out Eventbrite for all your party planning/RSVP tracking needs!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

newsignature

3 thoughts on “Galentines Day with the Penguin

Leave a Reply

