Weekly Wishlist (#16)

weeklywishlist

Because I needed a post in my life that kept me up to date on all things BOOKS!  and it seemed like Wishlist Wednesday was dead, I decided to make my own.

Welcome to Weekly Wishlist!

I’m all about breaking bending the rules to my will, so I’m switching it up!  I’m going to pair books that are already in the wild…with books soon to be released. Click the covers to be taken to the Amazon page.

THIS WEEK, I’m changing things up and instead focusing on graphic novels I want to read!  Because YAY, graphic novels!

fishbreak

The Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)

Graphic novel star Kazu Kibuishi creates a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, a giant robot—and two ordinary children on a life-or-death mission.

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids’ mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

addtogoodreads

Why I want it:

For one, it looks like a ton of fun.  I mean really, who could say no to demons, robots, and talking animals?!  I know I can’t!  For two, I’ve heard awesome things about this read, and that makes me suuuuper excited about it.  For three…LOOK?!  at the artwork?!?!?!  on the cover?!?!?!?!?!  I’m sure the insides are JUST as gorgeous!

Bone, Vol. 1: Out from Boneville (Bone, #1)

After being run out of Boneville, the three Bone cousins, Fone Bone, Phoney Bone, and Smiley Bone, are separated and lost in a vast uncharted desert.

One by one, they find their way into a deep, forested valley filled with wonderful and terrifying creatures…

Humor, mystery, and adventure are spun together in this action-packed, side-splitting saga. Everyone who has ever left home for the first time only to find that the world outside is strange and overwhelming will love Bone.

addtogoodreads

Why I want it:

I picked up a physical copy of this book at a Barnes & Noble in Colorado while on vacation there over Christmas, and was SUPER intrigued by the blurb and the artwork.  I didn’t buy it at the time, but I am BOUND and DETERMINED to own a copy for my shelves in the future!

Seconds

Katie’s got it pretty good. She’s a talented young chef, she runs a successful restaurant, and she has big plans to open an even better one. Then, all at once, progress on the new location bogs down, her charming ex-boyfriend pops up, her fling with another chef goes sour, and her best waitress gets badly hurt. And just like that, Katie’s life goes from pretty good to not so much. What she needs is a second chance. Everybody deserves one, after all—but they don’t come easy. Luckily for Katie, a mysterious girl appears in the middle of the night with simple instructions for a do-it-yourself do-over:

1. Write your mistake
2. Ingest one mushroom
3. Go to sleep
4. Wake anew

And just like that, all the bad stuff never happened, and Katie is given another chance to get things right. She’s also got a dresser drawer full of magical mushrooms—and an irresistible urge to make her life not just good, but perfect. Too bad it’s against the rules. But Katie doesn’t care about the rules—and she’s about to discover the unintended consequences of the best intentions.

From the mind and pen behind the acclaimed Scott Pilgrim series comes a madcap new tale of existential angst, everyday obstacles, young love, and ancient spirits that’s sharp-witted and tenderhearted, whimsical and wise.

addtogoodreads

Why I want it:

This one comes down entirely to word of mouth.  I’ve heard AWESOME things about this read, and I’m dyyyyyying to pick it up!  I mean, the blurb sounds super interesting too, but…word of mouth, penguins.

This One Summer

Every summer, Rose goes with her mom and dad to a lake house in Awago Beach. It’s their getaway, their refuge. Rosie’s friend Windy is always there, too, like the little sister she never had. But this summer is different. Rose’s mom and dad won’t stop fighting, and when Rose and Windy seek a distraction from the drama, they find themselves with a whole new set of problems. It’s a summer of secrets and sorrow and growing up, and it’s a good thing Rose and Windy have each other.

In This One Summer two stellar creators redefine the teen graphic novel. Cousins Mariko and Jillian Tamaki, the team behind Skim, have collaborated on this gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately hopeful story about a girl on the cusp of her teen age — a story of renewal and revelation.

addtogoodreads

Why I want it:

I have to admit, I’m mostly intrigued by this one for ONE reason:  “two stellar creators redefine the teen graphic novel.”  I want to know HOW.  I want to see what they’ve done to redefine what has become a popular form of story telling.  Also, this sounds like a super adorable read, and I need more of that in my world right now.

fishbreak

Have a book YOU’D like to recommend to me?!  AWESOME!  Either shoot me a comment down below, or send me a recommendation on Goodreads RIGHT HERE!

What do you guys think–have you read any of these…or WANT to?  What did you think of them, if so?  Let me know your thoughts and as always…

Until next time, happy book-ing!

 

newsignature

Leave a Reply

