Full Tilt: This Book Broke My Stone-Cold Heart

bookreview

Full Tilt (Full Tilt, #1)

“I would love you forever, if I only had the chance…”

Kacey Dawson has always lived life on the edge–impulsively, sometimes recklessly. And now, as lead guitarist for a hot up-and-coming band, she is poised at the brink of fame and fortune. But she is torn between wanting to be a serious musician, and the demons that lure her down the glittering, but alcohol-soaked path of rock stardom. A wrecked concert in Las Vegas threatens to ruin her career entirely. She wakes up with the hangover from hell and no memory of the night before, or how she ended up on her limo driver’s couch…

Jonah Fletcher is running out of time. He knows his situation is hopeless, and he’s vowed to make the most of the handful of months he has left to him. His plans include seeing the opening of his glass installation at a prestigious art gallery…they do not include falling in love with a wild, tempestuous rock musician who wound up passed out on his couch.

Jonah sees that Kacey is on a path to self-destruction. He lets her crash with him for a few days to dry out and get her head on straight. But neither of them expected the deep connection they felt, or how that connection could grow so fast from friendship into something more. Something deep and pure and life-changing…something as fragile as glass, that they both know will shatter in the end no matter how hard they try to hold on to it.

Full Tilt is a story about what it means to love with your whole heart, to sacrifice, to experience terrible grief and soaring joy. To live life with all its beauty, and all its pain, and in the end to be able to smile through tears and know you wouldn’t have changed a thing.

Full Tilt #1
Contemporary Romance/New Adult
292 Pages
Trillian Publishing
Publication Date: June 28th, 2016
Get a copy here!

4.5Penguins
Quick Reasons: oh penguins, my heart!; this book hurt; I cried!–a little; emotionally challenging; I knew this love was bound to hurt, but I was pushing for it the whole time; realistically flawed, beautifully complex characters; the growth in this read is astounding; I loved every relationship in this book

Huge thanks to Emma Scott, Trillian Publishing, and Netgalley for granting me access to a digital ARC of this read free in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

ft-quote1

Okay, penguins. We’ve talked about this before–usually, I’m a stone-cold heart when it comes to emotionally challenging books. Usually, I can read difficult passages and distance myself from them enough to NOT be left a sobbing mess. Usually, I’m tough, and I’m strong, and I kick emotions in the butt. BUT. This book? SOOOOO not the case. I mean, I wasn’t left a sobbing mess per se….but there were tears. I was definitely choked up. That ending BROKE. ME. APART. And I can’t lie–while I HATED it because nuuuuuuuuh, so not nice!…I loved it all the same? Maybe I’m a masochist; why else would I take such pleasure out of reading books that hurt me so hard?

Let’s talk about the nitty gritty for a second. This book is NOT rainbows and butterflies and happily-ever-after. There is not a princess to be saved from a scary dragon, though perhaps there IS, in a sense, a dragon (if you count medical conditions dragons, and I SO do. I mean, I should know, given my own chronic illnesses.) This book bites, and it bites HARD, penguins. There are some pretty heavy subjects broached throughout. There’s a LOT of grouchy, a lot of mistrust, and a lot of holding back. These characters–one in particular–carry some very heavy demons. This is not, by any means, a “light and fluffy” romance (though there are some very fluffy moments).

ft-quote2

Emma Scott wrote these characters as if she had specific, in-depth knowledge of their brains. Their reactions, their interactions, their dialogue and their personalities–everything that makes these characters is individualized, thought out, and complex. Due to this, there are a TON of relationships being explored and being changed throughout. I really adored how human and realistic the characters, their motivations, and their relationships were in this read. They all scrambled to put themselves at the forefront of my brain, and keep themselves there. Each one became a distinct voice, a separate personality–and I found myself longing to be friends with pretty much all of them.

But the GROWTH. The growth our main duo goes through is probably my favorite part about this read (I mean, apart from the life-ruining, heart-crushing ending. Because I’m a masochist, remember?) Jonah and Kacey face off against demons, both their own and each others’, in ways that I couldn’t imagine having to go through–and hope I won’t have to experience, because yeesh, they went through a LOT in this book. I especially loved that, while each character was growing in their own way and coming into themselves…they were always growing because of each other. The best relationships, in my mind, are those that make you want to change for yourself–and Kacey and Jonah gave each other that. And it was absolutely beautiful to see happening.

ft-quote3

I just… I don’t get choked up by reads very often, penguins, so you KNOW this book is something special. The characters are realistic and wholly distinct, the read is quick and emotionally-challenging, and the ending… The ending is every romantic masochists’ dream. I recommend this to lovers of difficult plot lines, new adult reads with a punch, and loves even the fates should be jealous of. I ran into this read full tilt…and that was the best decision I could have made. You should take the fall, too!

12 thoughts on “Full Tilt: This Book Broke My Stone-Cold Heart

  1. Pingback: Update #2–Winter Bookish Bingo | betwixt-the-pages

  2. Pingback: All In: Because Sometimes, a Risk is Worth the World | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

