2017 Reading Challenges

card-template-2e

Because let’s be honest:  I wouldn’t be ME if I didn’t have my hands in as many different jars as possible.  I mean seeeeeeriously.  Also, reading challenges help me read more, which helps me review more, which helps me….er…. well, something to do with books and recommendations at the very least.

Now, I’ll admit it:  I was TERRIBLE about the challenges I signed up for for this last year.  I mean, I still DID them….but….when it came to checking in?  Linking up?  Actually PARTICIPATING in the thing?!?!?!?! Yeah, I failed.  I AM DETERMINED, though, to rock this thing in 2017 and actually DO! THE! THING!

And by that I mean complete and total participation.  For the win!  Because…why not?!  New year, fresh start, and all that hoopla.

HUGE THANKS to Nicole @ Feed Your Addiction for this HANDY DANDY CHALLENGE GUIDE !  I’d be so lost without her, and honestly… I was just thinking this morning, before I started my daily blog-hop session, how I needed to get on top of figuring out what challenges I wanted to do.  SO YAY, good timing!  Thanks again, Nicole!

So…. LET’S DO THIS! (remember–click the image to go to the challenge page!)

fishbreak

 We’re going back to school but this time your in charge of the assigned reading list!

Ready to join Michelle and I for the 2017 Reading Assignment Challenge!?

So…according to the rules, I need to pick a LEVEL to participate in.  I’m going to say…let’s go with 3 books a month.  YES, 3!!!! books I’ll need to figure out and plan ahead for!  3!!!! books a month from the HOARD of books I already own, because let’s not make this easy and use review books okay?  I can so do this.  I think I’ll do…1 NEWLY added book, and 2 books that’ve been sitting around on my shelves for AAAAGES.  Because balance, y’all.

Jan.–

Long Lankin (Long Lankin, #1) All We Have Left Belzhar

Feb.–

Pandemonium (Delirium, #2) The SnowFang Bride (Snowfang #1) The Fifty-Seven Lives of Alex Wayfare

Mar.–

Roots and Wings (City Limits, #1) Veracity The String Diaries

Apr.–

The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare (Alex Wayfare, #2) Requiem (Delirium, #3) Sunshine and Rain (City Limits, #2)

May–

Warped The Eldermaid Black Beauty (Everleaf #0.5)

June–

Speaker for the Dead (Ender's Saga, #2) Welcome to the Dark House (Dark House, #1) Iron Breakers: Stag's Run

July–

Burial Rites Xenocide (Ender's Saga, #3) The Forgetting

Aug.–

Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas, #1) Sins & Needles (The Artists Trilogy, #1) Everbound (Everneath, #2)

Sep.–

Seven Ways We Lie Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1) Game Slaves

Oct.–

Children Shouldn't Play with Dead Things (Dead Things, #1) The Cage (The Cage, #1) The Walls Around Us

Nov.–

The Outliers (The Outliers, #1) The Looking Glass Wars (The Looking Glass Wars, #1) The Shock of the Fall

Dec.–

Inamorata Through the Dark (The Darkest Minds, #1.5, #2.5, #3.5) Leviathan (Leviathan, #1)

SO.  MUCH.  YES!  I can’t wait, I’m super excited now!

fishbreak

2017-alphabet-soup-button

The Alphabet Soup Challenge means that by December 31, 2017

your bowls must be full of one book for each letter of the Alphabet.

I’m just going to wing this one.  I’ll fill out the letters I can as I go along, and then fill in whatever empty spaces I have.  I did this before for a goodreads challenge and I totally rocked it, so.

fishbreak

What's In A Name 2017 logo

The challenge runs from January to December. During this time you choose a book to read from each of the categories.

This one’s pretty self explanatory I think.  I LOOOOVE challenges like this, that make me think outside the box at times. YAY creativity!

fishbreak

womenwriterschallengeThis reading challenge is pretty simple: only read books by women writers for one year. Bonus: Review it in as many places as possible – blog, Goodreads, Twitter, smoke signals, whatever gets the word out about fabulous women writers. I’ll be using #womenwriters2017 on Twitter and Instagram

I chose to participate in this one because… I already?!?!?! read SO MANY?!?!?! women writers.  Seriously, guys, you’ve no idea–the ratio of women to men writers on my “read” list is like….. I don’t even want to guess at the ratio, but women FAR OUTWEIGH the men and I don’t even do this on purpose!

#womenwritersforthewin

fishbreak

I’m gonna start the Pride and Prejudice Project. Yay! You may be wondering, what does that mean? . Well, it means once a month I’m gonna be posting a review of a book that is based on or is a sort retelling of Pride and Prejudice or maybe a review for a movie adaptation or a TV show or a web series based on Pride and prejudice.  I will review one of those things every month or post some sort of bookish list related to Pride and Prejudice.

I mean….c’mon, this project is literally CALLING MY NAME okay?!

fishbreak

And that’s that!  I’m SO excited, this next year’s going to be ROOOOOCKIN’.

Are you participating in any of these/any other reading challenges in 2017?  Which ones?!  Let me know, or link me to your challenge pages below!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

newsignature

14 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenges

    • YAYAYAYAYAY I’m SO super excited. It helps that I have, like, a stockpile of P&P retellings/variations stacked on my shelves and my kindle that I still need to get to. And at least one coming out next year that I can’t wait to lay hands on. I’M SO OBSESSED!

      Like

    • Yes, your list was SUPER helpful and I’m so so glad you put it together/are planning to update it as more challenges roll in–that’s so great of you! Thank you so much for all the hard work you put into it! Also, I’m sorry to hear they didn’t pan out so well this last year–hopefully next year is much better! 😀

      Like

  1. I’ve never taken my TBR seriously, so I’m kind of afraid to publicy sign up for an annual challenge e.e Does this make sense? I think I may *try* the alphabet one, tho. You know, quietly and just me, my panda self and I style haha! Let’s see how this will work out =) Good luck in all those challenges, Beth! I’m sure you’ll rock them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely want to participate in some challenges next year! I’m super indecisive though so I’m not sure which ones yet, haha. I LOVE that women writer’s one. For selfish reasons I couldn’t do it though because 2 new Rick Riordan books come out next year and I could not to wait to read them, haha. I mostly only read female authors too though!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think you have to read ONLY women writers the whole year, so long as you read some? But I so get what you mean haha, I have such a terrible time picking what I want to do which is how I end up doing ALL TEH THINGS evar. 😄

      Like

  3. I don’t link up with these online challenges. I’m not good at remembering to report in and link posts and follow rules! I just do my own preview and review posts, updating when I feel like it! You’ve got a lot planned Beth, good luck! I’ll be following your progress through the year!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

