Four Real: This Book BURNS with Hot and Steamy

penguinarc2

Four Real

Her love was greedy. Their love was infinite.

Lead singer of the start-up band Four Real, Tricia Donahue left her hometown with one question. How can you love three men at once? She’s convinced herself that it can’t be done—not without living up to her family’s infamous reputation. Now, years later, lead guitarist Michael Hill is touring with world famous TRE, far removed from the small town band he once called his family. Home will never be the same until he makes things right. Keyboarder, Pete Morello and drummer, Marty Pierce were always close, but when the one girl they ever loved disappeared from their life, their casual threesomes and life’s hard knocks revealed the feelings they share for each other. Reunion time for four best friends with unfinished business means they will finally face the music. Fantasy…meet reality.

Erotica/Romance
158 Pages
Publication Date:  December 5th, 2016
Get a copy here!

4Penguins
Quick Reasons: this book is FULL of the hot and steamy; mature audience recommended; there are some heavy subjects broached; complex, well-rounded, entertaining characters; I loved the focus on relationships within these pages; super fun, quick read

Huge thanks to Alyssa Turner and Xpresso Book Tours for granting me early access to a digital ARC of this title in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

fr-quote1

Let me get this out of the way before anything else: this book is NOT for readers uncomfortable with polyamorous relationships. This is not a “one guy, one girl” kind of book, so if you’re expecting or wanting to find that…you should probably put this one down and step away. Find something else to read. Also, there are some mature themes and subjects broached throughout–please keep this in mind! This book is definitely not going to be for “everyone,” so if it doesn’t work for you, that’s okay!

That being said. I. LOVED. this book! I actually just went and bumped my penguin rating up a tiny bit because it was, having thought about it, a smidge too low for how I feel about this book. The characters are complex, well-rounded, and super entertaining. I’m not going to lie: I’ve always been a sucker for “love between band mates” books…and this book met that criteria beautifully. On top of that, the characters are realistic and diverse, while not being too cliche or “in your face” about their differences. They are human, and real, and I loved each of them equally. It doesn’t hurt that they practically leaped off the page at me. I was, at times, a bit frustrated by Tricia; she came off very flighty and cowardly at times, and that didn’t mesh at all with the vibe I expected her to put off going into this read. Once I wrapped my head around her and her character quirks, though, I enjoyed her much more. Of course, each of the boys in this are immediately bae–I just couldn’t choose between them if I tried! #multiplebookboyfriends #forthewin #Imnotashamed

fr-quote2

Alyssa Turner knows how to weave a relationship and make it realistic, and the relationships built upon and explored throughout these pages are one of my favorite elements. The friendship–gone so long with so many things unsaid and so many subjects unbroached–felt cohesive and natural even after so much time had passed in the characters’ lives. Reading this, I felt an outsider looking-in on a group of friends I could only HOPE to someday be as close to. The fact that a deeper, stronger relationship is woven into and throughout that friendship only helped to make these friends/lovers FEEL like the real deal to me. There are so many different types of love divulged and explored throughout this read, and each of them is just as natural and just as true-to-life.

I had a TON of fun reading this, and cannot WAIT to dive into more of Alyssa Turner’s novels! This book helped to give me a glimpse into a different type of love and intimacy, and I enjoyed every moment of it immensely. The relationships felt cohesive and realistic, the characters are well-rounded and entertaining, and there are several moments hot and steamy enough to leave even the most seasoned romance reader blushing. I recommend to readers who appreciate friendship-turned-love plots, deliciously sexy romps, and journeys of self-discovery. Alyssa Turner caught me in her snares with this one; maybe you should dance the dance, too!

10 thoughts on “Four Real: This Book BURNS with Hot and Steamy

  1. Mother of Moses…Is that guy on the beach playing the piano going to be okay? Should somebody call 911? Ah, forget it. It looks like the tide will be coming in soon anyway!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. While I loooved your review and the songs were totally for the win (hello, new babies on my iPod! Just wait quietly on the corner to meet the other 283494030202747478484 guys around the place), I still can’t really grasp the concept of polylove, per say. I believe it is real and as valid as any kind of relationship, but it doesn’t work in my panda brain e.e I’ve read romances like this before, but I don’t think they are for me? #territorialistpanda #mymanismine #Icanhavemultiplemales #mymalescanhaveonlyme #I’maLeosoI’mjealous

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Sunday Post (#39) | betwixt-the-pages

  4. Pingback: Update #1–Winter Bookish Bingo | betwixt-the-pages

  5. Pingback: Loved and Loathed (December 2016) | betwixt-the-pages

  6. Pingback: Update #2–Winter Bookish Bingo | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

