P.S. I Still Love You: The Hope in this Book is Heart-Fluttering

Penguin2.3

P.S. I Still Love You

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2
Contemporary/Romance/YA

352 Pages
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 26th, 2015
Get a copy here!

4Penguins
Quick Reasons: love quadrangle of a sort (I mean…I guess I should have expected that given the blurb); I somehow found myself conflicted about which of the two I liked better; still adore the focus on family and familial love; cutesy, fluffy, and adorable in all the right places; poignant, powerful moments

 

I know what you’re all thinking right now. I’m sure it’s something like, “OH MY PENGUINS, Beth! You’re actually caught up on a POPULAR series?! What is this madness?!?!?!” And you’d be right: I am not very caught up on the “popular” series. In fact, while I am caught up on several handfuls of series….most of them are not big-name or well-known. I can only list a very very SMALL number of big-name series I’ve actually managed to finish–not necessarily out of not wanting to, but because of how full my review schedule has been recently.

 

 

So yes–I am currently caught up on THIS popular series, at least. And just in time, given there’s a third book being released soonish. So let’s talk about this book a little bit, yes? The plot is–while not necessarily “fast paced” in that there are no blown up buildings, no vampire takeovers, and no alien invasions–fast in the sense of growth, change, and real-life situations. I was drawn in from page one, and couldn’t bring myself to put this book down until I’d turned the final page on my kindle. Lara Jean is both endearing and hilarious–some of the situations she gets herself into, make me shake my head and giggle aloud.

 

ps-quote1

 

After reading just one chapter, I realized… I had somehow managed to fall in love with each of these characters. They are all complex, unique, and flawed in their ways–as is everybody in the real world. Lara Jean did a LOT of growing in the last book…and that growth only continued into this read. In fact, by the middle of this read, I wasn’t sure I was even reading about the same character–and I adore that about this series. How much everything shifts, and changes, and grows. It’s realistic, it’s beautifully written, and it’s entertaining. All of these characters are constantly reshaping themselves and changing to fit the day’s events…but Lara Jean, in this book especially, goes through some very heavy, mature things.

 

 

Which brings me to point two: the things this book tackles! Slut shaming; new romance after the death of a wife and mother; the potential for hope even in the darkest days; forgiveness, kindness, and understanding; acceptance and tolerance. Granted, not all of these are laid out in stark black-and-white; many of them are more subtle, just tiny touches here and there, small moments that made me stop and catch my breath. There is one specific moment that Lara Jean actively stops, takes a step back from her emotions, and really SEES the world from another’s eyes…and that moment was HUGE, in my opinion. That is something that we should all be actively striving to do, day in and day out–to try to understand one another better.

 

ps-quote2

 

This was an entertaining, quick, endearing read…and I am officially excited about the coming of book three! I definitely recommend this book (and this series so far) to readers of contemporary romances; characters with just a smidge of a flair for the dramatics; and SO MUCH personal growth. I am anticipating April 2017; I can’t wait to see what the next book brings.

4 thoughts on “P.S. I Still Love You: The Hope in this Book is Heart-Fluttering

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (#36) | betwixt-the-pages

  2. I love this review! I really like this duology and I definitely feel like it deserves the hype. Although many people say Lara-Jean is too immature, I could relate to her character a lot. I appreciated the amount of development she goes through in this novel. I also really love the other characters, especially Kitty. She’s so adorable!
    I can’t wait for the 3rd book to come out! Great review, Beth 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Goodness, thank you SO SO much for reading Lais! I so appreciate it and your kind words!

      I’m with you on waiting impatiently for book 3–which is funny, because I wasn’t TOO sure, going into To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, that I’d even LIKE the series. Whoops?

      Haha, thank you so much again! ❤

      Like

  3. Pingback: Loved and Loathed (November 2016) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

