The Spot on the Wall: There’s Nothing “Sexy” About these Sex Scenes

Penguin2.3

The spot on the Wall

A UNIQUE erotic paranormal horror story which centers on Ron, whose sexual obsession with Laura leads him to murder the recluse owner of the house she HAS to have. After Ron secretly hides the corpse in the cellar, the couple moves in. In time, however, a strange spot begins appearing on their dining room wall.

Horror/Paranormal/Erotica
338 Pages
What-If Productions
Publication Date: August 15th, 2016
Get a copy here!

2.5Penguins
Quick Reasons: there wasn’t anything horrifying about this read; I really disliked the amount of graphic, detailed sex fantasies we got from Ron’s POV; I wouldn’t even call this an “erotic” read, there was nothing sexy about it; an interesting look into obsession and the ways it changes us; random ghosts?

Huge thanks to Rob Santana, What-If Productions, and the crew at Booktasters for sending me a copy of this title free in exchange for an honest review. This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

It is safe to say I did not particularly enjoy or appreciate this book, for several huge reasons. So let’s start at the beginning. I found the look into obsession and greed, and the ways these things change us or alter our behavior toward others, interesting and thought-provoking. When I first picked up this book, I was SUPER intrigued–I was excited about the idea of an erotic horror story and kept having flashbacks to that scene in American Horror Story: Murder House. If you’ve seen the show, I’m sure you know which scene I’m talking about–it involves a rubber suit? This was not at all what I got from this book, though.

For one….nothing about this book horrified me. I was hoping for fear. I was hoping this book would give me nightmares. I was HOPING I’d be kept awake at night, searching the shadows, fearing the things that go “bump.” None of this happened. Even the scenes that should have been scary, fell flat–and I’m not sure if that’s because of my personal dislike for the book, or the way the scenes were written.

Ron stood up and approached the smudge. Without disturbing Helena, he reached for a hand towel, then dabbed at the spot.

It was gone.

Just a normal, everyday blemish.

I don’t feel like the characters went through much personal growth or discovery. Ron, throughout the read, remains a whiny, sex-crazed guy. Seriously, the dude thought of literally NOTHING ELSE–every other page was smeared with graphic, detailed sex fantasies. He was judgmental, insulting, and obsessive. All of these things, while perhaps calling for an interesting character….put me off. The rest of the characters were just as 1-dimensional; I couldn’t–and didn’t really want to–connect with any of them. Which is depressing, as it made for a very long, very frustrating read.

There were a few moments at the beginning that piqued my interest enough to keep me reading, but…this quickly devolved into the rambling thoughts of a man obsessed with sex and intent on doing ANYTHING to get it. Ron claims to “love” Laura throughout….but when presented with other opportunities to find pleasure in other women, suddenly it’s all “No, I don’t think she really cares for me, what would it matter if I cheated?” Had this been written in a different manner…with less emphasis on sex/the “erotic”…it might have been scary. It might have been more entertaining. I might have actually enjoyed it.

Unfortunately, with everything I detailed above, this just wasn’t the right fit for me personally. While I don’t mind sex in my books, I want there to be an actual plot outside of the bedroom–and while there IS a plot going on here, it’s muddled. It gets lost in Ron’s obsession. I think the emphasis might have been better had it lied upon the ghost story, and not the erotic. Still, the small insight into obsession and greed–and the ways they warp and change us–was interesting. I’m disappointed…but maybe you’ll like this book better than I did. Just because I’m disappointed, doesn’t mean YOU will be–so if you think it sounds interesting, pick it up!

One thought on “The Spot on the Wall: There’s Nothing “Sexy” About these Sex Scenes

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (#36) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

