Love Addicts Anonymous: I’m Sorry, I Didn’t Realize this was a SERIAL

Penguin2.3

14803291_612393265608603_698447724_o14859518_612393582275238_209926072_o

Love Addicts AnonymousKade Wright is an expert in rocking any woman’s world.

Sexy, rich, and the type you don’t bring home to meet your mother, he has broken more hearts than he can remember, and there is no end in sight. Until one mistake lands him in boiling hot waters. When his company orders him to the LOVE ADDICTS ANONYMOUS Rehab Center, he better get his affairs in order or else he loses his seat on the company board.

Love isn’t supposed to be addictive. But for Vicky Sullivan it is.

A true romantic at heart, she comes with a bit of a stalking tendency, and is completely not adverse to commitment. But who’s Kade to judge? As someone who’s seeking commitment and afraid of never finding love, she’s the type of woman he wouldn’t usually hit on. Except, she’s hot and keeps avoiding him…yes, even after seeing his private parts naked in all their glory.

Kade isn’t known as the tall, dark and ruthless businessman for no reason. Romance isn’t in the air, more like wild between the sheets action with no expectations. Vicky’s convinced she can resist, but Kade has other plans for her.

Can Vicky stay away from the one man who seems so easy to get and so hard to keep?

Erotica/Contemporary/Romance
Expected Publication Date: November 7th, 2016
Preorder a copy here!

3.75Penguins
Quick Reasons: fun, unique, addictive story; these characters are fresh and individualized and SO SNARKY I love them!; entertaining, dramatic, sometimes uncomfortable read; I giggled out loud much too much; quick and easy to get into; I guess I should have paid more attention to the fine print?

Huge thanks to J.C. Reed, Jackie S. Steele, and Lady Amber’s Reviews for sending me an advance copy of this title free in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

laa-quote1

Let me just start by saying, penguins: I should have probably paid more attention to the fine print. You see, when I went into this read, I didn’t realize that “part one” meant “this book just sort of STOPS dead in the water in the very middle of the plot.” I didn’t realize that I’d breeze through the book so quickly…and be left with rather a lot of anger at the ending. Because the ending? Nonexistent. This book just sort of stalls out, a looming cliffhanger, a “find out what happens NEXT WEEK on: The Bachelor!” I’ll be honest. I raged. I ranted. I took to facebook and vented and screamed and threw a fit, because THIS IS NOT the way books should end! And then I realized…it doesn’t really matter. If I hadn’t enjoyed the read as much as I did, I wouldn’t be raging so hard about it. Right? So I’m going to pretend I went into this book knowing it’s more like a serial publication than an actual complete novel, and move right on along.

So let’s talk about the actual content, yes? This was a super entertaining, snarky, unique read! I have, in the past, been accused of being addicted to love. Having read this…well, I’m not sure I can agree anymore, but I’ll concede that I know people who ARE. The plot is not necessarily full of action, but full of fun and wit and a mature humor I don’t often find myself reading. It was a ton of fun to step outside of my normal “reading zone” and into something completely different–and J.C. Reed made it MORE fun by crafting such unique, individualized, complex characters.

laa-quote2

In fact, these characters are the epitome of “opposites attract”–and are so much fun to read and imagine. They leap off the page, they beg readers to dig deeper, and they stick to their guns–for the most part. The problem is… I feel like this isn’t a complete novel. I keep coming back to the “part one” idea, and how J.C. Reed played out the ending. I keep coming back to the fact that I feel like I was JUST beginning to scratch the surface of this book, only to have the rug yanked out from under me. These characters are a BLAST, but I don’t feel like the plot progressed very far in the grand scheme of this book before it was suddenly THE END. I had so much fun diving into these characters’ heads and taking this journey, but I was, in the end, expecting more of the “fluffy, feel-good, steamy romance” than I actually got.

This book wins! in terms of snarky, witty repertoire and unique, entertaining characters. This book even wins! in terms of giggle fits, quick reading, and awkwardly hilarious scenarios. But in terms of “novel,” in terms of “complete read,” in terms of “a well-rounded and full plot,” …….. I think this book loses. I’ll be picking up the next one, when it’s released–because I’m in for the long haul, now. I want my steamy fun, penguins! But I won’t lie and say I’m not also disappointed. Still, I recommend this to readers of romance, high-stakes endeavors, and snarky fun! For now, I’m off to sew my very conflicted selves together.

3 thoughts on “Love Addicts Anonymous: I’m Sorry, I Didn’t Realize this was a SERIAL

  1. Oh you have my empathy on that ending I did the exact same thing with another book a few months back. I was like “they forgot to print the end” then it was “oh crap I’ve got to wait for book two” then it was “oh bigger crap there are three books so book two will do this aswell” sometimes we should just wait until all the books are published! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (#35) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

