Romancing the Nerd: A Second Helping of Adorable?! Definitely

Penguin2.3

Romancing the Nerd (Nerd, #2)

Cool guy. Geeky girl. Let the games begin.

Dan Garrett has become exactly what he hates—popular. Until recently, he was just another live-action role-playing nerd on the lowest rung of the social ladder. Cue a massive growth spurt and an uncanny skill at taking three-point shots in basketball and voila…Mr. Popular. It’s definitely weird.

And the biggest drawback? Going from high school zero to basketball hero cost Dan the secret girl of his dorky dreams.

A tuba-playing nerd with an eclectic fashion sense, Zelda Potts’s “coolness” stat is about minus forty-two. Dan turning his back on her and the rest of nerd-dom was brutal enough, but when he humiliates her at school, Zelda decides it’s time for a little revenge—dork style. Nevermind that she used to have a crush on him. Nevermind that her plan could backfire big time.

It’s time to roll the dice…and hope like freakin’ hell she doesn’t lose her heart in the process.

Nerd #2
YA/Contemporary/Romance
292 Pages
Entangled: Teen Publishing
Publication Date: April 5th, 2016
Get a copy here!

4.25Penguins

Quick Reasons: this is just as adorable as the first book!; the couple is butterfly-inducing and so realistic; LOVE all the LARPing that’s mentioned throughout; great focus on important societal/moral issues; there is a LOT to love about this series; I am officially in love with Leah Rae Miller

Gaaaaaah. GAAAAAH! Is it possible to OD on mooshy goosh heart butterflies, penguins? Because I’m pretty sure I did today. This is the companion novel to The Summer I Became a Nerd, featuring the snarktastic Dan this round (don’t worry, Maddie and Logan make TONS of guest appearances!) And let me just tell you–THIS is the way companion novels should always be done. This was just as snarky, just as full of nerd-culture, and just as adorable as the first book. And, cherry on top, we got to see deeper into “Dan-the-Man” in the process. Win? Definitely!

There are also some super important subjects taking place in this book. One of the biggest? Bullying. And it’s done BEAUTIFULLY, penguins. There’s one character in particular who, instead of remaining true to his jerktastic tendencies, owns up to the fact that he’s in the wrong and works diligently to change his ways–as well as going out of his way to try to change the ways of others! This was SO well done and gorgeous, I am in awe of the genius that is Leah Rae Miller. I’m also completely not sure why I haven’t picked her titles up much sooner.

rn-quote1

Another huge topic broached is the pressure that kids are often put under by their parents–to do better, to be different, to do great things. Now, don’t get me wrong–parents SHOULD want these things for their kids (well, except maybe the “be different” thing–that entirely depends on the thing that needs “changing”) Once again, Leah Rae Miller approached the subject with sensitivity and care, crafting a story shows both sides equally and bridges the gap.

And the characters! Overall, these are some of the best characters I’ve come across lately–I love pretty much all of them, because they can, and usually are, redeemed by the end of the read. Dan is so super snarky, I giggled every time he opened his mouth–I just couldn’t help it! The romance is also realistic and well-done, and Zelda held her own in the long-run. I just… I cannot sing enough praises about these books, penguins–they are adorable. I’m beginning to think I don’t read enough cutesy contemporaries; I should probably fix that.

rn-quote2

I had SO MUCH FUN taking a break from my “need to read” list and just reading for me today; my penguin heart needed the lift, and Leah Rae Miller provided it in snark, adorable romances, and dork-culture. I will definitely be seeking her out in the future; I need more of her genius! I recommend this book (and its companion novel) to lovers of insta-sass, adorkable characters, and bigger moral issues/themes. If you’re missing out on the heart-flutters, penguins, these books are MUST reads!

One thought on “Romancing the Nerd: A Second Helping of Adorable?! Definitely

  1. Pingback: Loved and Loathed (October 2016) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

