Wishlist Wednesday (#34)

WW

WISHLIST WEDNESDAY
Hosted By:  PEN TO PAPER
Description: Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it’s entirely up to you), that we can’t wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves..

Find their latest post here!

I’m all about breaking bending the rules to my will, so I’m switching it up!  I’m going to do four books–two that are out in the wild, and two soon-t0-be released! Click the covers to be taken to the Goodreads page!

Books in the Wild

The Replacement

Mackie Doyle is not one of us. Though he lives in the small town of Gentry, he comes from a world of tunnels and black murky water, a world of living dead girls ruled by a little tattooed princess. He is a Replacement, left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago. Now, because of fatal allergies to iron, blood, and consecrated ground, Mackie is fighting to survive in the human world.

Mackie would give anything to live among us, to practice on his bass or spend time with his crush, Tate. But when Tate’s baby sister goes missing, Mackie is drawn irrevocably into the underworld of Gentry, known as Mayhem. He must face the dark creatures of the Slag Heaps and find his rightful place, in our world, or theirs.

Why I want it: Can anyone say CHANGELINGS?!  Seriously, I just… my life is upended by changelings, okay?  I NEED this book in my world.  I need it like I need air.  I need it like I need another head! (and I mean this one seriously, unironically–I could use another head to do all this reading I need to do!)

Daughter of the Forest  (Sevenwaters, #1)

Lovely Sorcha is the seventh child and only daughter of Lord Colum of Sevenwaters. Bereft of a mother, she is comforted by her six brothers who love and protect her. Sorcha is the light in their lives, they are determined that she know only contentment.

But Sorcha’s joy is shattered when her father is bewitched by his new wife, an evil enchantress who binds her brothers with a terrible spell, a spell which only Sorcha can lift-by staying silent. If she speaks before she completes the quest set to her by the Fair Folk and their queen, the Lady of the Forest, she will lose her brothers forever.

When Sorcha is kidnapped by the enemies of Sevenwaters and taken to a foreign land, she is torn between the desire to save her beloved brothers, and a love that comes only once. Sorcha despairs at ever being able to complete her task, but the magic of the Fair Folk knows no boundaries, and love is the strongest magic of them all…

Why I want it:  This book has been recommended to me SEVERAL times, and it just sounds soooo soopah interesting.  Also, I think this is based on some fairy tale or other?  Which…you all know I’m a sucker for.

Never Let Me Go

As children, Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside. It was a place of mercurial cliques and mysterious rules where teachers were constantly reminding their charges of how special they were. Now, years later, Kathy is a young woman. Ruth and Tommy have reentered her life, and for the first time she is beginning to look back at their shared past and understand just what it is that makes them special—and how that gift will shape the rest of their time together.

Why I want it: I’ve seen the movie version (with Kiera Knightly?) and I just feel like the book might be MUCH less confusing for me than the movie.  I mean, I liked the movie, don’t get me wrong…but I feel like we missed out on an explanation somewhere.

Books Soon-To-Be

Of Fire and Stars

Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile lands. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire—a dangerous gift for the future queen of a kingdom where magic is forbidden.

Now, Denna must learn the ways of her new home while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria’s formidable warhorses before her coronation—and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine (called Mare), sister of her betrothed.

When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, each discovers there’s more to the other than she thought. Mare is surprised by Denna’s intelligence and bravery, while Denna is drawn to Mare’s independent streak. Soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.

But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms—and each other.

Why I want it:  Forbidden, hidden magic?  Assassins?  F/F romance?!  JUST ALL OF THIS SOUNDS EPIC, OKAY?! And I neeeeeeeeeed it.  I need it so freaking hard, penguins.  Give me this book.  Give me this book, and no one will have to eat the tuna at the bottom of the barrel.  GIMME.

What do you guys think–have you read any of these…or WANT to?  What did you think of them, if so?  Let me know your thoughts below or link me to your Wishlist Wednesday post, and as always…

Until next time, happy book-ing!

New Sig

4 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday (#34)

  1. I really really want to read The Replacement too because CHANGELINGS. And also that cover is just freakishly creepy and awesome?!? I’m also really curious about Never Let Me Go just because I’ve seen it around a lot and curiosity is like my reading weakness. I see a book and I JUST GOTTA READ IT. XD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the Replacement years ago – like High School years ago. *shivers* I remember being rather indifferent to the book (probably not dark enough for my emo High School self) but it’s on my re-read list before I decide whether to keep it or ditch it.
    Daughter of the Forest sounds interesting! The cover looks like it’s going to be another historical romance like Outlander, but it sounds so much better! Me like.
    I don’t think I’ve even seen the move for Never Let me Go! Huh… Kiera Knightly, you say?
    Of Fire and Stars looks sooooooooo good! I see there’s some mixed reviews but I think that’s okay, I’m still hooked.
    SO MANY GOOD BOOKS – WHY IS THE DAY NOT LONGER!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RIGHT?! Someone seriously needs to make book penguins their own person time turners because HOW AM I EVER GOING TO FIND TIME FOR ALL THE BOOKS?! I can’t even keep up on the hip books NOOOOOW, because of all the ARCs and review requests I get! (which isn’t bad, I mean, I looooooooove me my indie books so totes cool, but)

      Like

Leave a Reply

