Top Ten Tuesday (#34)

TTT

HOSTED BY: The Broke and The Bookish
DESCRIPTION:  Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week’s theme: Ten Books with Settings We’d Love to Visit

Find their latest post here!

Except…

Because I don’t wanna.

SO, instead, I give you:

The Top Ten FIVE Things this Penguin LOVES to See in Books

Snark

Because you all KNOW I lay little snark eggs that hatch little snark penguins.  I am ALL ABOUT snark, so books colored fifty shades of it? are always the books I most enjoy.

Snark, penguins–it’s like Skittles for me.  I long to taste the rainbow…and I can NEVER get enough!

(of course, this often leads to a strong sense of need-to-sass while I’m working… it’s a good thing most of my customers tolerate my mouth, because lately it’s been HUGE)

creativity

I mean really, who?!  wants to read the same “girl meets guy, falls head over heels, gets hurt” drivel time after time after time?!  Not me, for sure!  Give me something different.  I don’t MIND romance, but I don’t want it to be the entire plot, you know?

Dragons, pirates, polka-spotted coat-fondling ghosts…there are so many ways you could go!  Spice it up a little and try one of them out.  Or get crazy and do five.  OR get SOOPAH EPIC AMOUNTS OF CRAZY and do all of them.  At once.  In the same chapter.  And then add about a gazillion more.

(actually, no, don’t do this–your book would be a mess and that’s one lawsuit I don’t ever need on my plate.  seriously, you guys should know better than to listen to ANYTHING I say!)

No Romance

Yeah, I looooove love as much as the next book penguin…but romance (and romess!) gets a bit plain Jane tedious after a while.  Some of my FAVORITE reads this year have been, surprisingly, romance free (or pretty darn close to it).

Why?  Because these books have the freedom to focus on OTHER things.  The characters as complete individuals ON THEIR OWN, the plot and yummy twisty-turns, the emotions beyond “he/she broke up with me and now I’m crying.

Romance free is the best thing EVAR, penguins, because there’s no pressure to “ship” anybody.

Girl Power

I’m sure you’ve all come across at least one of these characters in your reading careers:  that girl who, for unexplained reasons, is “not like other girls” (even though she really toooootally is.  LIES, I tell you, LIES!)

Maybe she’s into video games (leGASP!) Maybe she wants to be a zombie when she grows up (I mean, who wouldn’t?!) Maybe her hair smells like lemons and she lays golden eggs (if this is the case, you should probably run far far away–there’s no telling what else she’ll do, and golden eggs can easily bust your face open in a fit of rage)

Whatever the case, she thinks she’s the BEST VERSION OF GIRL to ever exist since men discovered their own two feet… and this?  Annoys the crap out of me.  Because usually, it leads to girl hate.  It leads to cat fights.  It leads to a whoooooole lot of drama that could be effort put toward other portions of the plot.

Give me girl power, and you’ll find a solid reader in me.  Give me unnecessary girl hate, and…well, I might just find a golden egg of my own to throw at you.

Family

Some of my favorite reads share ONE important, but often overlooked, thing:  awesome familial relationships!

Don’t get me wrong–I’m not necessarily talking the “perfect” family.  This is 2016; perfect families don’t exist aaaaanywhere.

BUT.  Books that focus on and implement familial relationships (of any kind, not just blood-related) are the bomb diggity.  Mostly because these days, books paint families as either completely nonexistant…or the most evil of evil things in all history of evilness.  Which… No.

Don’t do those things, okay?  There are all sorts of families out there.  Even if the parents are dead and your MC’s an only child, they can–and probably should be!–close to others in the same type of way.  Figure out WHO those others are.  Make them IMPORTANT to the story and your character.

I will love you so hard for it.

And that’s it!

What sort of things does YOUR little penguin heart go pitter-patter over in books?  Based on the above, do you have any book recommendations for me?  Feel free to share your thoughts with me in the comments, or link me to your own Top Ten Tuesday!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

New Sig

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#34)

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! I HAVE read some no romance books this year, so I know it can be done–and done well, given they’ve been some of my favorites! More of that, though, authors, please! MOOOOOOORE!

      ❤ thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  1. Love this list! Yes to all the creativity mingled into one huge jumble of a book but I’ll leave that for the professionals to tackle XD Romance done well and in a different way is so fantastic but some books just have the same tired plot of boy and girl meet add some betrayal/drama/stupidness to the middle and a happily ever after ending and we’ve got a contemporary! I love when we get more from the characters rather then it all being about the ships. Great TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, I’m so glad you enjoyed my prompt choice this week! And yes, I don’t MIND romance generally but there are just some days I want something…other. Something different, something not the same tried and true old thing. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. CAN I GET AN AMEN FOR NON-ROMANCE BOOKS! I completely agree with you. We did a month of romance on our blog and I swear, those were the first romance books I’d ever read. I seriously doubt my romance list will grow much more because I am so sick of them! I couldn’t even do rom-coms. And I love rom-coms!
    Such sadness.
    I love girl power and snark too. Yup yup – perfection in a puffin right there.
    Also, what’s your stance on puffins? Because they’re smelly but SO SNUFFLY and slightly like super mini flying penguins!! ♥
    I was going to recommend Every Heart a Doorway but I see you’ve already lived and loved it and it makes me happy, so I’m done. 😀
    (P.S. Sorry for the rambles and bad grammar, this cider is a bad influence on everything expect productivity – strange combo!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAAAAAAAAAS, so much yas! I mean, I like romance well enough most of the time but there are days where I’m just like… “Nuh. Don’t wanna with the love bug, leave me ‘lone!” Haha.

      PUFFINS ARE FREAKING ADORBS! Seriously, I just…gaaaaah! I’ve never seen a penguin of any sort in real life because…Wyoming?… which isn’t an answer but go with it anyway, k? BUT YUS! PUFFINS! I particularly looooooove Puffin in The Swan Princess (very old animated movie–that penguin has so much snark it’s awesome. Then again, the turtle and the frog have lots of snark, too, so… SNARK!)

      THAT BOOK IS BAE! I’m still reeling from that book–if you didn’t listen to it on audiobook, though, let me just tell you–you should. That’s how I read it and OHMAHPENGUINS, so good!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wyoming is totally an answer. I’ve never been but yes – understood. ;D
        Puffin in the Swan Princess?! Snarky puffin?! BRB *searches* – AH, that puffin. For some reason I read that sentence as a title “Puffin in the Swain Princess” and was wondering HOW I MISSED THAT MOVIE but no, I know that movie and have watched it more times than I care to admit. HE’S SO CUTE ah gash. He’s like Sebastian from the Little Mermaid! Or Lumier from Beauty and the Beast… Oh those snarks!
        Hmmmm. Hmmhmmhmmm… I think she reads a little too slow for me but she isn’t bad though! The best audiobook I’ve listened to (which stems from the GINORMOUS list of six audiobooks) is easily Ready Player One, read by Wil Wheaton, and omg *swoons* SO MUCH SWOONS.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. “No Romance” YESSSSS BETH!!!!!!!! AND GIRL POWER!!!!! Sorry for shouting at you, but YESSS!!

    I agree with ALL of the things you listed, btw but no romance and girl power oh my god PLEASE GIVE ME MORE BOOKS WITH NO ROMANCE and more books with actual girl power and not some “i’m not like other girls” tirade. I’d love to see more with family dynamics too!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha it’s okay, please feel free to SHOUT AT ME ANYTIME! XD

      I can give you recs for several books with very little romance, if you want. >.> Girl power is harder though, I can’t do that one yet because most books have some sort of girl hate geared plot.

      BUT I can also recommend some with family dynamics that I’ve read recently!

      Like

Leave a Reply

