Arctic Dawn: Stop the RoMESS and Kiss Her Already!

Penguin2.3

Arctic Dawn (The Norse Chronicles, #2)

The Norse Chronicles #2
Goodreads Rating: 4.39 Stars
332 Pages
Red Adept Publishing, LLC
Published July 5th, 2016
Get a copy here!

Alone and exhausted after her month-long sojourn as a shooting star, Solina Mundy flees to southern California to lie low, recuperate, and plot a survival strategy. The one person she trusts to watch her back is her best friend, Skyla Ramirez. But Skyla has been missing for weeks.

The arrival of a dangerous stranger and the discovery of a legendary weapon of mass destruction forces Solina out of hiding and back into the fight for her life. Solina knows she won’t last long on her own. She must find out what happened to Skyla and unite her contentious allies if she hopes to track down this devastating weapon before her enemies use it to burn the world to ash.

4.25Penguins
Quick Reasons: so much delicious snark; love the scattered pop culture references; this is one roMESS I both am afraid to see the end of, and am dying to see resolved; quick read filled with action and adventure; love the continued focus on Norse mythology; I just want to squash these characters to pieces

I just… I don’t even… GAAAAAAAAH! Karissa Laurel, you have done it again–swept me up on a journey of snark, adventure, and cinnamon roll characters only to leave me hanging by a thread at the end, drooling for the next book. Please, please, tell me the next book comes out soonish–I don’t know how long I can stand to wait this time! I need to know, I need to knoooooow!

Ahem. Let me try to find a bit of coherence now, yes?

AD Quote1

Once again, this book was full to the BRIM with Norse mythology and pop culture references. I found myself giggling every couple of pages–there are references to Chuck Norris, to Disney movies, and SO many others I’m sure I didn’t even catch them all. Each time, I found myself cracking a smile–the mix between the “old” and the “new” really worked to keep a balance throughout this book, and draw the two worlds together in a coherent and well-planned way.

 

The plot is fast-paced and loaded with action. Between the battle scenes, the “AHA!” moments, and the general tenacity of the characters, I was torn between racing headlong toward the ending and slowing down enough to savor the story–after all, I don’t know when the next book will be released. It’s bound to be quite the long wait–but I just couldn’t keep myself from devouring this book! Karissa Laurel does a fine job of “wrapping up” the smaller plot line of the current book, and maintaining the larger, more out-of-focus story as set-up for the next installment. While these books end with sort-of cliffhangers, they manage to give readers a sense of completion and satisfaction.

AD Quote2

The snark is almost ten times that of the first book–there were SO MANY clap-backs, sassy moments, and deliciously played scenes, especially between Thorin and Solina. I both feared for and looked forward to scenes of them, anticipating heartache all the while wishing for more. Their weird push-and-pull dance is getting tighter, the more books are added to this series…and I’m looking forward to the explosion, honestly. I am anticipating it impatiently, if I’m honest–I just want to shake them until they kiss already and get it over with, because PENGUINS, the tension there is just bone-searing.

 

The rest of the cast is no less entertaining, though, so don’t be put-off! There are battles of life and death, there are several cruel twists of fate, there’s a trickster who fooled even ME… Pretty much anything you could ever want in a book about the children of Gods, you can find in this series, and it’s awesomely done!

AD Quote3

I cannot WAIT for book three–it’s going to be a nail-biting, emotionally-jarring time for me, I feel, as I’m invested in these characters to my very core. I need to know what happens next. I need it like penguins need webbed feet and round bellies. I need it like air, which I know sounds dramatic, but… It’s the truth. If you’re searching for a series with a heavy focus on Norse mythology, snarky characters, and roMESSes…this series?! Definitely for you. Don’t just take my word for it–go pick these books up! I’m in for the long haul with this one; you should be, too.

One thought on “Arctic Dawn: Stop the RoMESS and Kiss Her Already!

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (#50) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

