Top Ten Tuesday (#29)

TTT

HOSTED BY: The Broke and The Bookish
DESCRIPTION:  Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish in June 2010. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week’s theme: Top Ten Favorite 2016 Babies

Find their latest post here!

My Theme: Top Ten Favorite UNAPPRECIATED 2016 Babies (and by babies, I mean books, obviously)

And by 2016…we mean those that have been released so far, or existed already, obviously.  Or at least, I do.  I dunno about the rest of y’all.

Every Heart a Doorway

I just finished this a few days ago, but let me tell you what:  it immediately jumped to the very top of my “favorite reads for 2016” list.  Why, you ask?

Quick Reasons: I am SCREECHING right now!; this is sort of likeThe Nightmare Before Christmas meets Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children…and I ADORED it!; creeptastic, gorgeous, addictively detailed prose; entertaining, quirky, exciting characters; this story is SO unique; an awesome spin on the idea of “make believe,” “the imagination,” or “Neverland”

See my full review here!

Equal Parts (Supernova, #1)

I mean sure, it’s got some of the same tropes we see in almost every NA/romance novel…but I have a major soft spot for super powers and antiheroes.  Book two, PLEASE exist soon!

Quick Reasons: holy hot penguins, guys!; this romance is steamy and dangerous and my type of perfect; I have a thing for men who call their women “darling” and this book satisfied that; drama, angst, and turmoil—oh my!; the world-building is inventive and intriguing; the characters leap off the page; I NEED BOOK TWO

See my full review here!

Vinyl (The Vinyl Trilogy Book 1)

Every now and then, the sliver of my heart reserved for dystopians and heartache opens up and BEGS me to fill it.  I picked up THIS book during one of these episodes, and have never looked  back.

Quick Reasons: future readers be warned: 77% is a life ruiner moment; this book is gritty, unique, and all sorts of epic; I’ve never read anything QUITE like it; I need book two like yesterday; awesome characters; “the chosen one”…but not really; all-around wonderful

See my full review here!

Of Better Blood

The people in this book?  Absolutely OUT of their cotton-picking minds.  And yet there are echoes of those same thoughts even today.  This is SUCH a powerful read!

Quick Reasons: life-ruiner!; the world in 1922 was absolutely terrifying, I am so glad I didn’t live there; this historical fiction is SUPER important, even today; lots of focus on human nature and ingrained paranoia; atmospheric, beautiful prose; the main character has a ton of personal growth; snarky, sassy characters made for some entertaining dialogue

See my full review here!

This Old Heart of Mine

I cannot EVEN with this book, guys!  I will never think of organ donation the same way again–and I am much better for it.

Quick Reasons: oh my goodness, my poor heart!; this..this book…I am a babbling, incoherent idiot right now; this book needs to be read; the emotions, the challenging subject matter; I want to be friends with these characters, they could teach me so much; I can’t even compute what I just read; this book is GORGEOUS, guys; I feel a book hangover coming on

See my full review here!

Wrecked

Which is exactly what this book did to my emotions:  wrecked them.  It wrecked them SO hardcore.

Quick Reasons: like the title suggests, this book WRECKED me; comfort zone? what even is that? I don’t think I know anymore; there’s an interesting play on “unreliable narrators” and “omniscient narrators” going on throughout this book that made this both frustrating, and intriguing; I don’t know what to feel right now; this book will shatter every perspective you think you have…and piece it back together in a different way

See my TEASER review here!

Holding Smoke

This was such a weird, interesting, exciting book–I adored it, so much.  Also, that cover is kind of brilliant.

Quick Reasons: ohmahgosh, I can’t even; this book will MAKE you reconsider the world; there’s no escaping the twist and lure of “good vs. bad” going on in these pages; this will turn you on your head and make you see things upside down…and you’ll let it; gorgeous, melodic prose; hard-hitting story; dramatic, action-packed mystery—a race to the finish line

See my full review here!

Touch

I mean… you all knew Natalia Jaster would wind up on this list eventually, right?  RIGHT?!  If you didn’t expect her, you really should have.

Quick Reasons: Natalia Jaster, you’ve broken me again!; this is an awesome, inventive, beautiful retelling; the characters are quirky, flawed in all the right ways, and well-rounded; the love story is gorgeously paced; the mystery and flair for drama throughout lends a ton of action and adventure to the plot; this read is a TON of fun

See my full review here!

Symptoms of Being Human

I know this is one of the *better* known books on this list, but I LOVED it, guys.  Can you forgive me for wanting to rave about it here?!

Quick Reasons: good god this book!; realistic, endearing, believable characters; lots of angst, drama, and confusion; delicious ambiguity; yet another book that will change your view of the world; this novel is SO IMPORTANT; well-written, sensitive, and amazing

See my full review here!

The Cresswell Plot

Not only is this one unappreciated, it has a pretty poor goodreads rating.  Maybe I read a different version than anyone else, but…I really enjoyed this one?  Sure, it’s weird, and the ending is quite abrupt…but I didn’t think it was THAT bad.

Quick Reasons: OHMAHGOSH, ohmahgosh, this book is insanely intense; I took a huge step out of my comfort zone for this read—and am so glad I did!; lots of plot twists and moments that caught me off-guard; lots of pretty, “makes you think” moments; the prose is beautiful and well-done; the characters are vibrant and unique; the plot is action-packed and full of mystery from the beginning; THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD!

See my full review here!

What books made YOUR TTT this week (either favorite or least favorite reads?) Feel free to share your thoughts with me in the comments, or link me to your own Top Ten Tuesday!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

New Sig

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#29)

    • Thank you, Reg! I mean…I only thought of it because going through my 5 penguin reads, I realized MOST of them were unappreciated haha–it was pretty easy from there to be like, “yup, that’s my topic!” I just read SO many unappreciated books, I guess it was the easier option!

      Thank you so much for stopping by! ❤

      Like

      • Uhm. You know, that’s a good question? LMAO I find a TON through blog tours/book tours…and…I dunno? I mean, I browse Netgalley frequently, and Edelweiss…and I find out about others when authors approach me for reviews. So… I guess it all sort of comes together into this madness!

        Like

  1. Great post! If there’s anything I love it’s getting recommendations for underrated books so this list is perfect, I’ve only heard of Every Heart A Doorway (which I’m really excited to read) and The Cresswell Plot but I’ll definitely be checking a lot of these out now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • DO EEEEEET! Do it and regret NOTHING, because all of these books (in my humble opinion) are PERF and SQUEE-WORTHY and so so sooooo good! (one of these days, I’ll write a musical number and hire someone to do the choreography and it’ll be all about why people should read what I tell them to because I’m always right. Except, you know, when I’m not. XD )

      Haha, thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I will definitely have to read Symptoms of Being Human – it sounds awesome, and I love your passion in writing about it 🙂 Also the Creswell Plot looks intriguing. I’ve also liked a few books that have lower GR ratings – oh well, to each his own. For me this one sounds like a winner – a well written mystery with awesome characterizations, and a bit creepy. YAY. Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love under appreciated books! This is such a great idea! I’m so so excited to read Every Heart a Doorway and The Cresswell Plot (I found out that is actually available in Australia but it’s called In The Dark, In The Woods instead so haha). I feel like YA thrillers/horrors always get a bad rating, but I LOVE THEM. And Wrecked UGH!!! DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED. Wrecked is definitely an appropriate title, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me, too! (I mean, obviously. XD)

      I’ve actually seen that title around and was wondering what was up with that–I guess it sort of makes sense, though not really? Why have two different titles? (I know sometimes titles get changed between publishings, but…to start off with two titles?)

      Wrecked WRECKS yooooooou, so hardcore! Yet you love every minute of it? I can’t explain iiiiiit haha, but I’m sure you understand what I mean!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Sunday Post (#23) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

