I Hate Fairyland: Witty Banter, Vibrantly Morbid Art

Penguin2.3

I Hate Fairyland #1

Goodreads Rating: 4.07 Stars
33 Pages
Image Publishing
Published: October 14th, 2015
Get a copy here!

Superstar SKOTTIE YOUNG (Rocket Raccoon, Wizard of Oz) makes his Image debut with an ALL-NEW SERIES! The Adventure Time/Alice in Wonderland-style epic that smashes its cute little face against Tank Girl/Deadpool-esque violent madness has arrived. In an adventure that ain’t for the little kiddies, (unless you have super cool parents, then whatever), you’ll meet Gert—a six year old girl who has been stuck in the magical world of Fairyland for thirty years and will hack and slash her way through anything to find her way back home. Join Gert and her giant battle-axe on a delightfully blood soaked journey to see who will survive the girl who HATES FAIRYLAND.

4.5Penguins
Quick Reasons: this was NOT the story I was expecting; the artwork is GORGEOUS, if a little bit morbid; I absolutely loved the wordplay going on throughout; this chick is snarky, down-to-earth (er…sort of) and hilarious; I think I’m officially hooked

I picked this up on Amazon after watching Riley Marie’s GIANT BOOK HAUL on youtube just yesterday afternoon…and decided to pick it up now for a quick, light bit of reading. Also, because why the heckles not?!

 

Capture.JPGFairy

This read? Absolutely hilarious! I knew, going in, that this was a bit morbid, a lot dark, and pretty snarky. I did not know, however, that I would fall in love with the main character so immediately. She literally grabbed me by the hair, pulled me face-first into the book, and held me captivated until the very end. She is a grown woman in a child’s body, and I giggled like a lunatic throughout the entire journey!

Along with the snark are gorgeous (and, at times, graphically morbid) art panels. I could not tear my eyes away from the page to save my life—the artwork is so vibrant and pretty and eye-catching! I found myself seeking out the tiniest, most minute details, just to make certain I devoured all of it.

And the wordplay? Perfect, snarky, and at times a little grotesque. There were several moments I caught myself giggling, closing my eyes, and then laughing again when I realized the double-meaning of certain words/phrases. When coupled with the brilliant artwork, this story leaps to life.

 

Capture.JPGFairy2

I definitely recommend this to lovers of witty banter, brilliantly-deceptive characters, and vibrantly morbid artwork. I am not ashamed to say I’ll be racing to buy the rest of this series—I NEED this adventure in my life!

7 thoughts on “I Hate Fairyland: Witty Banter, Vibrantly Morbid Art

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (#21) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

