Stacking the Shelves (#19)

StS

Stacking the Shelves
Hosted by:  Tynga’s Reviews
Description: Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Find their latest post here!

Sometimes I feel a bit like a squashed-penguin pancake.  Which…sounds really gross and inedible, but also strangely right.

My grandma had her hip replaced a few weeks ago.  She did good–she had a knee replacement not long back, and swears this one was much better.  However, this past Monday she fell at home-TWICE, within an hour and a half.  None of us are sure how she managed to not fall on her hip or fall and hurt herself, but she came out completely fine (save two very bruised knees from trying to get herself back up off the floor).  The second time, she decided she needed to go to the hospital.

Of course, the hospital in our town is sometimes…very bad…at their jobs.  At first, they were trying to send her home.  My mom and grandma BOTH argued and refused to leave.  Which is good, because they did tests and discovered grandma’s  blood pressure kept dropping-it was normal while lying down, but dropped once after sitting up and AGAIN after standing up.  Obviously, this was part of why she kept losing her balance.

So they did more tests…and decided something was wrong with her heart.  Either she’d had a mild heart attack, or there was some sort of blockage happening.  Being so small, they had to send her to a larger hospital an hour and a half away…

…said larger hospital ran tests of their own, and decided there’s NOTHING wrong with her heart.  Her blood pressure was just dropping randomly.

Which, I mean, is great news.  But.  She came home Wednesday.  Now, you need to know something:  my grandma has always had pets.  When her cats died (I was in…middle or high school?) she decided to get a bird.  Well, that bird got very lonely and very depressed, so she got another bird to keep him company–a female.  And despite the fact that the male was pretty mean to her-he liked to pluck her bald if left alone too long-they luuuuuurved each other.  A lot.

So I guess she got home, and the male managed to get out of his cage.  Obviously, she couldn’t get down to pick him up, and he was TERRIFIED of the walker apparently.  My mom went over, got him settled back in, and left.  And later that evening, the female started acting funny, so grandma went over to the cages to see what was up…and found poor Petey dead.

Basically, my grandma’s had a very bad May so far.  And I feel a bit like roadkill from all the stress.

So how are all of you, dear penguins?!

Recently Received

for blog tours

The Masterpiecers

Shadow (The Romany Outcasts, #2)

Crimson Sky (Dark Sky #1)

from authors

Just a Few Inches

from lit-cube

Alice Takes Back Wonderland

Recently Purchased

ebooks

audiobooks

read by Miss Lydia Bennet (from The Lizzie Bennet Diaries) herself!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

What are some of the books YOU picked up/added to your shelves (either real or virtual?)  Let me know below, or link me to your own Stacking the Shelves!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

New Sig

22 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (#19)

    • Me, too–I’m just hoping the month eases up a bit on the stress for her, as that’s not good healing conditions either.

      I’ve read a few of her novels in the past and really enjoyed them! This one I found on sale, so scooped it up.

      Thank you for stopping by and reading/commenting! Happy book-ing to you!

      Like

  1. Ahh, I’m so sorry about the tough month your grandmother is having, Beth! I defnitely understand you about hospitals not doing their jobs right. My nana passed away a couple of years ago, but once she had broken her hip and they completely missed the break in the X-Rays and were trying to force her to walk around. When a Doctor from one of the bigger city hospitals found out a lot of yelling at the staff that day was done, haha. I hope things ease up for your grandmother soon, losing pets is never easy either. I’ll be sending lots of positive vibes her way!

    Also, great haul of books! I’ve been considering trying out the HP audibooks because I’ve never listened to an audibook before and want to start with something I’m familiar with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope the next weeks will be easier on your grandmother.
    What a nice book haul! I am curious about Just A Few Inches. I read an interview from the author and I liked how she made research and built the story.
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I will send good thoughts your Grandma’s way. My grandfather is 94 and doesn’t it seem like when it rains it pours when you get older. I love the look of some of the books you picked up this week and will have to check a couple of them out farther. Hubby and I are in the middle of hockey playoffs so your penguin really makes me smile!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Barb–I think, really, it goes that way for pretty much everyone if you think about it. Bad luck seems to just…linger sometimes, you know?

      I’m so glad you like the penguins! Thank you for stopping by! ❤

      Like

    • Thank you so much, Bambi! I’m sure she appreciates all the kind words and thoughts from you guys.

      I’m really curious about that one, too–hopefully I find time to sneak it in soon! Thank you so much for stopping by/reading! ❤

      Like

  4. Pingback: Sunday Post (#18) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

