This Old Heart of Mine: Is a Bumbling, Babbling Band of Baboons

Penguin2.3

This Old Heart of Mine

Goodreads Rating: 4.90 Stars
340 Pages
Expected Publication Date:  May 24th, 2016
Get a copy here!

Ava Malone knows all about being broken-hearted.

Born with a severe heart defect, she’s spent her whole life in and out of hospital desperately needing a transplant.

Just days from death, her weak prayers are finally answered, and she receives a new heart; one that not only saves her life, but changes it forever.

Now fit and healthy, Ava is able to do things she only dreamed of, like get a job and some independence, fall in love, and finally live life to the fullest.

But her journey of self-discovery takes her to places she never expected. Along the way, Ava doesn’t just find the woman she was always meant to be, but she also finds out more about the woman who no longer is. The one who gave her this new life because she lost hers.

Faced with a devastating dilemma, Ava must decide whether the heart that’s pumping inside her body now belongs to her, or is still beating for someone else.

5Penguins
Quick Reasons: oh my goodness, my poor heart!; this..this book…I am a babbling, incoherent idiot right now; this book needs to be read; the emotions, the challenging subject matter; I want to be friends with these characters, they could teach me so much; I can’t even compute what I just read; this book is GORGEOUS, guys; I feel a book hangover coming on

First and foremost, huge thanks go out to A.J. Compton and Xpresso Book Tours for granting me access to this title in exchange for an honest review. This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book.

TH Quote1

And oh, PENGUINS, guys—this book was nothing like what I expected going in. Yes, I caught on to the “plot twist” pretty early on in the book. Yes, some of the prose and dialogue is awkward and confusing. But the heart of this story? Devastating. The subject matter? Approached with sensitivity and maturity. The things this book TAUGHT me? Absolutely priceless.

You laugh because I sound like a Kodak camera commercial, but I’m not lying. This book is the definition of a life-ruiner, in my world. This book challenged me, pushed me out of my comfort zone…and made me stop to really think about things in a different way. The sheer number of pulse-stopping moments, the ones that make you step back and catch your breath? I can’t even try to guess how many there were in this read. More than that, though—I closed this read with a heart both heavy, and at the same time, light. I don’t even know if that makes sense, but…it’s the best way I can explain it.

TH Quote2

These characters are vibrant. They leech from the pages, they slip the claws of their personalities beneath your skin—they linger, even when the book is closed. I found myself longing to be friends with them, even just for a moment; I feel they could teach me, and the world, a lot about what it means to actually live. The romance is believable and steamy in all the right ways; the heart butterflies were strongly aflutter, just the way I like them.

And the story. THE. STORY. I just… I cannot, simply cannot, get over the vast amount of growth these characters go through. We get a short, and (in my opinion) much-needed, perspective shift around the 75% mark which just…really helped to tie the world, and these characters, together for me. The voices are strong, the prose is melodic and atmospheric… I just cannot stress how much I adored this read, start to finish.

TH Quote3

I am beyond honored to have been granted access to this title; it was, and IS, a life-changer. A life-ruiner. This is one book that will stick with me, rubber cement on the heart, for quite possibly the rest of my life. I recommend to lovers of hard-hitting contemporary, strong characters who overcome the hardest obstacles, and unexpectedly emotional journeys. The subject matter is SO heavy…but so, so needed. You guys NEED to read this—please, pick it up. Let it change you.

5 thoughts on “This Old Heart of Mine: Is a Bumbling, Babbling Band of Baboons

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (#18) | betwixt-the-pages

  2. Pingback: Loved and Loathed (May 2016) | betwixt-the-pages

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (#29) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

