The Boy with Words: Haiku, Star-Crossed Lovers and…Giants?

Penguin2.3

The Boy with Words

Goodreads Rating: 4.40 Stars
460 Pages
Live and Love the Fantasy Publications
Get a copy here!

Two Books in One Volume! (Five Seven Five & Five Seven Six)

White Frost has only ever known the darkness. Everything outside of her closed society is The Unknown – a strange and dangerous place accessible to only a chosen few. White’s only glimpse of the world beyond comes from her beloved cousin in the form of mysterious collections of words that hint at astonishing wonders. When an accident upends her simple existence, she’s given an unlikely chance to see the truth for herself.

What she finds is greater and more terrible than she could have imagined, and before long she is forced to make the most important choice of her life: does she accept her safe, limited world that she’s known or take a desperate gamble in a world not meant for her with the Boy with Words?

4Penguins
Quick Reasons: this was an interesting fantasy story that went an unexpected direction; interesting characters and plot; the romance was believable and made a fairly hefty moral statement; White was weirdly wishy-washy at times; I’d have liked to know more about the HOWs behind this world; definite intrigue and mystery

Huge thanks to C.E. Wilson and Live and Love the Fantasy Publications for sending me a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this title.

FSF Quote1

This book was weird. And by weird, I mean right up my alley!  And by right up my alley, I mean…Do I really have to explain that part to you guys?  I hope not.

 

First and foremost…this was NOT the read I was expecting going in. Based on the blurb, I was expecting a type of dystopian society much like a lot of other novels we’ve been seeing the past few years. What I got? Definitely not that—and I both enjoyed, and was also surprised, by this fact.

FSF Quote2

The characters are quirky and a ton of fun. There’s a lot of snark and sass going on, especially from our meddling MC, White… but there are also endearing moments, drama-filled moments, heartbreaking moments… This book, in other words, is filled with ALL THE FEELS, and I enjoyed every moment of the read. I particularly liked the morals being passed along throughout the romance between White and Kes—I feel like there’s a pretty heavy statement being made about love, the outside world, and differences. I feel like there’s a lot to learn from these characters and their journey throughout this read. I feel like more people need to pick this book up, and perhaps find a different way of looking at things. A different perspective, if you will.

 

I was a bit disappointed in White throughout, however. She came off very wishy-washy to me, and I don’t feel like she did a lot of growing (emotionally; no pun intended! or is there?). While Kes goes through so many changes and emotions, I felt like White might have been a bit stunted in this book; I don’t feel we got much from her, apart from her juxtaposed sense of adventure and habit of running away when scared. She was contradictory in many ways, and didn’t, in my opinion, find much in the way of her own ground to stand on, even at the end of the read. Regardless, the romance felt believable, despite the differences in our characters, and the read was both quirky and entertaining.

FSF Quote3

Overall, this was a fun, endearing fantasy read—I had a ton of fun following Kes and White on their journey, though I wish there had been more to the world-building. While I know the hows and whys, I’m a little disappointed in how…LITTLE…of the world we actually got to see in this book. I’d still recommend this read to lovers of sci/fi and fantasy; wild, whirlwind romances; and books that make you look at the world from a different perspective. This was a great adventure!

One thought on “The Boy with Words: Haiku, Star-Crossed Lovers and…Giants?

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (#17) | betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

