Reconsidering How I Review

Penguin2.6

Lately, I’ve discovered this niggling voice in the back of my head that insists I can DO BETTER with how I review.  I’ve been considering the many different ways people (especially other bloggers I appreciate/look up to/admire) approach the reviewing conundrum and…I feel like perhaps there’s not enough ME in my reviews, despite how much voice I try to put into them.

So I wonder (and please, PLEASE feel free to jump in and tell me if this is a totally stupid idea or if you guys are totally down with the change) how you’d all feel if I…

–included a “soundtrack” of sorts, with 1-3 songs I feel fit the book’s plot. these would be youtube and embedded into the review, probably spaced between my paragraphs.

and

–started putting my chosen “excerpts” atop imagines, instead of just block-quoted into the text.  In other words…I’d figure out a specific image, find it (free for use or stock photo or whatever) on google, and then edit the quote onto it.  Or maybe just pick some sort of textured background, and use that?  I think the textured background is the way I’m leaning, actually.

Both these ideas would help break up the text (I feel like I spam you with ALL THE WORDS, basically, and I know not everyone likes that) and bring a bit of “different” to my reviews in general….

I dunno, what do you guys think?  Do you like one or the other of these ideas?  PLEASE feel free to let me know!–I’d love to hear your opinions!

New Sig

25 thoughts on “Reconsidering How I Review

  1. I like the idea of the quotes on a textured background. Do that!
    I think there’s plenty of voice in your writing itself, so keep that up.

    But I probably wouldn’t click on the soundtrack videos you post. That’s just me, though. Other people might love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your thoughts, sweets! I really appreciate them!

      I’m so so glad to hear I somehow manage to get “me” into my reviews; that’s awesome, because half the time in the midst of writing I’m not even thinking about it, I’m just gooooing!

      I will definitely be playing around with both these ideas in the very near future, but no worries–you don’t have to click on the videos if you don’t want to. 😀

      Thanks again!

      Like

    • Bahahahaha music is my liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiife force. Like, seriously. If I were a Carebear Cousin, I’d be the Singin’ Penguin…. (which tooootally rhymes and works!)

      Really, though, it’s not quite an anxiety so much as it is a… “I’m starting to put myself to sleep because I get bored way too easily and that’s no good” thing. XD My penguin brain can only handle so much boring before it breaks, Lauren!

      Hahaha thank you for your opinion! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Girl, I already love your reviews; and you definitely incorporate plenty of you into them. I love the idea of the quotes on textured background, though. I’ve been attempting to that with all of the book reviews I’m currently working on. If nothing else, it definitely provides a lovely visual break between blocks of text which will hold attention longer, I think.

    Incorporating music is a glorious idea! I’d love to see if you decide to start doing that. Of course, when it’s all said and done: Do you! Don’t stress too much about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww–you all are making me blush so hard right now! I am glad that “me” comes through in my reviews, though–it’s hard to tell, sometimes, when in the midst of writing!

      No worries, I’m not stressed at alllll–this was actually more spawned from the fact that I, as a flighty penguin, get bored SOOPAH easily and am always seeking ways to switch things up lest I put myself to sleep, so… XD

      I think I’m definitely going to start incorporating both these ideas and see how it goes. The worst that could happen is it doesn’t work out, and that’s totes cool with me. 😀

      Thank you so much for leaving your opinion! ❤ Have a great rest of your day!

      Like

    • Thank yoooou so much, hon! It seems majority voted definitely for the soundtrack idea, and I just LOOOVE the texture background quote idea myself, SO I’ll for sure be playing with it for a while and seeing how it works out for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it’s always great to workshop how you review, especially if you’re not quite happy with your approach to reviewing 🙂 I love the idea of putting a soundtrack in – that would definitely make it more YOU – I mean, how could it not? And you can never go wrong by going to town on images to make them your own :p

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Kirstie!

      I mean, I dunno..I get bored WAY easily, so I’m always switching things up or trying different things. I’d go absolutely crazy if I didn’t, I think. And that wouldn’t be pretty. 😉

      It seems a majority of comments here are all for the soundtrack idea, so I’ll definitely be giving it a shot! Thanks so much for your opinion!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! My music fetish is HUUUUUGE and I love sharing, so hey, win-win for everybody! (or…at least I think so!)

      It seems most of you would love to see the soundtrack idea put into the works, so I’m definitely going to give it a shot for at least a few reviews and see how that goes!

      Thanks so much for leaving your opinion, Marie! Have a great rest of your day!

      Liked by 1 person

    • ❤ Haha thank yooooou! I'm genuinely surprised how many people say they like my reviews just fine as they are–I guess when I'm writing them, I never think there's enough *me* to be interesting.

      Yes, definitely–I think I'm going to give the ideas a shot, and if they don't work, they don't work. No big loss either way, I don't think!

      Thank you so so much for your comment, Sammie–have a great rest of your day!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. They sound like fabulous ideas! I know it’s always super hard to try and make reviews interesting and eye-catchy, so MUCH APPLAUSE for brainstorming different things to do! 😀 The soundtracks would be awesome, because we’ll get song recs as well as book recs. ;D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! I have a bit of a music fetish, so that one wasn’t too hard for me to come up with…and I’ve never seen anyone else do it for their reviews, so *eager flailing*

      Thank you so so much for your opinion on this, Cait! I really appreciate it! Happy book-ing to you…and have a great rest of your day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

