Top Ten Tuesday (#19)

TTT

HOSTED BY: THE BROKE AND THE BOOKISH
DESCRIPTION: TOP TEN TUESDAY IS AN ORIGINAL FEATURE/WEEKLY MEME CREATED HERE AT THE BROKE AND THE BOOKISH. THIS FEATURE WAS CREATED BECAUSE WE ARE PARTICULARLY FOND OF LISTS HERE AT THE BROKE AND THE BOOKISH. WE’D LOVE TO SHARE OUR LISTS WITH OTHER BOOKISH FOLKS AND WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR TOP TEN LISTS!

This week’s theme: Top 10 Books I LOVE…but don’t Talk About Enough!

Find their latest post here!

Top Ten Books I LOVE…but don’t Talk About Enough!

Lexicon

Somehow, I always forget this book exists when giving people reading recommendations, which… I mean, why?!  This book is REALLY awesome!  I particularly loveloveLOVE the main theme–so good!

Spinning Starlight

Again…I don’t know why I don’t harp on more about this one!  I love the futuristic/space fantasy plot incorporated throughout.  And the MC, while forcibly mute, is snark-tastic.

Midnight Predator (Den of Shadows, #4)

Taking you back to my high school days here!  I fell in love with this author after learning how old she was when first published.  Her novels–especially this one!–still hold a very special place in my heart (and reading life.)

Good Omens

So.  This book is the biggest reason I started picking up the Discworld novels.  It’s also the book that pushed the husband and I into reading Pratchett’s novels aloud.  So.  Much.  Epic!

Anansi Boys (American Gods, #2)

While we’re on the subject…this is MAGICAL.  I mean…both literally and figuratively.  I absolutely adoooored this read!

The Gracekeepers

LOOOOVE, LOVE, LOVELOVELOVELOOOOOOVE!  That’s all I have to say.

Swan Song

Okay.  I read this book in…high school, I think?  It’s one of my mom’s favorites (from, you know, when she actually READ things) and I just… Oh, mah gosh!  This book is intense from start to finish!

False Memory

Again, I read this in high school.  Again, it’s INTENSE.  The big reveal, in particular, I remember being dauntingly clever.

Kinky

Poetry for the WIN!  This collection seamlessly blends Barbie (yes, the doll!), feminism, and human nature.  I LOVE it.  The humor, especially, is both dark and spot-on.

Vampire Haiku

And finally, THIS.  This collection is both history-changing AND entertaining.  I really love the twists Ryan Mecum was inspired to put to the past in this collection of haiku…I laugh out loud every time I read it.

And that’s it!

Feel free to link me to your own TTT in the comments, or leave your thoughts below!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

 New Sig

33 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#19)

  1. Now I feel bad because I haven’t read any of these yet! Though everything Neil Gaiman is on my TBR… I’ll just go and add the rest of these to my list now, okay? 😉 I love the cover for Spinning Starlight. So pretty! And anyone who can be described as snark-tastic is probably my kind of character 😉
    Wonderful Tuesday post, Beth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Annika! I had quite a bit of fun with this one–I don’t often think about the books I love but never talk about, so this was a great test to my memory of books from years past! XD

      Thanks again for stopping by!

      Like

    • YES, YES DO IT! The prose is just as gorgeous as the cover (if that’s even possible?) I will warn you, though, the writing IS pretty poetic/abstract, so if that’s not your kind of thing, you might not like the read.

      Like

  2. Oh wow, you’ve got great taste! I don’t think I know anyone else who has read Amelia Atwater-Rhodes books. They were my favorite for awhile, though I think Demon in My View is my personal favorite. I’ve got to catch up on her shapeshifter series and some of her more recent stuff.

    Neil Gaiman, always a good choice. I haven’t read Anasi Boys yet, so it’s good to know it’s appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! There have been very few others out there who’ve read her, so far as I’ve found. I don’t see her come up very much, at least–maybe she’s one of those authors we all read, but forget to harp on about?

      Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you’re having a great day!

      Like

  3. Hi Beth! I LOVE your list. There are some new titles on here I am going to add to my TBR right away (especially “Kinky” and “Spinning Starlight which was on my radar already). I am so glad you also read Neil Gaiman, I think we will get along just fine. I loved both Anansi Boys and Good Omens. Neil Gaiman is my favorite author, and I pretty much will read anything with his name attached to it. I am going to go add you to my Twitter, Tumblr, etc. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Marci! I hope you’re having an awesome day! It’s my Friday, and I’m home from work, and…yeah, things are good on my end right now. 😀

      Thank you SO MUCH for all the follows–I appreciate it! I can’t wait to see what you come up with yourself!

      I hope you enjoy the books you added to your TBR from this list when you get the chance to pick them up–these are all some of my absolute favorite reads, so fingers crossed they pan out well for you! Happy book-ing!

      Like

  4. What a neat list! I actually haven’t read any of these. The barbie inspired poetry one sound really interesting. Makes me think of the changes they’ve made to Barbie dolls recently. Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier 🙂 I’m now following your blog and excited to read more of your posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Okay so I don’t know any of these books BUT I really liked the one book by Neil Gaiman that I’ve read so far, and I definitely want to read more by him. And can I just say that the cover of Spinning Starlight is gorgeous? I’m afraid it doesn’t really sound like my kind of book though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I LOVE Neil Gaiman with all my heart. He is a genius, pure and simple. My favorite is Ocean at the End of the Lane. And I’m reading The Gracekeepers right now, actually. I’m really enjoying it so far! Lovely list!

    ❤ Erin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Erin, and thanks so much for stopping by! I haven’t read The Ocean at the End of the Lane yet, though it’s on my shelves patiently waiting!

      OH, YAY–fingers crossed you enjoy it through! That book is just sooooo gorgeous! Happy reading to you! ❤

      Like

  7. Ahh this reminds me that I want to read the Anasai Boys SO BADLY. Eeeeep!!! And I love Neil Gaiman so basically I’m convinced that all his books of ever will be perfect. xD And I want to read Spinning Starlight too! I didn’t realise the main character was mute?! Even more reason I need it…
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bahahaha YES, YES read it! It is SOOO good, I can’t even! It was actually one of my first Gaiman novels, so–maybe just a bit of bias? But still!

      And yes, the MC in Spinning Starlight is mute for a very large majority of the book–though not selectively! It was still a ton of fun to read through, though, and you get a sense of “her” through her thoughts and actions. The author did a great job, I thought, handling the obstacle of having a character that can’t talk.

      Thank you in return! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

