A Review of Wild Cat (Leopard People #8), by Christine Feehan

Wild Cat

Goodreads Rating: 3.99 Stars
395 pages
Jove Publishing
Get a copy here!

In the new Leopard novel by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Cat’s Lair and Leopard’s Prey, passions explode like wildfire when a young woman’s feral instincts are ignited by a man who’s too dangerous not to desire…

A simple request for Siena Arnotto: deliver a gift to her grandfather’s friend. One look at Elijah Lospostos, hard-bodied and stripped to the waist, and Siena succumbs to a feline stirring she never felt before, and to Elijah’s reckless and pleasurable demands. But when that pulse-throbbing moment ends in the murder of an unexpected intruder, Elijah accuses the shaken and confused Siena of setting him up.

Then Siena discovers the truth of her Leopard heritage, of the secrets in her grandfather’s inner circle, and the sinister plot of revenge that has put her in jeopardy. When Siena’s grandfather is assassinated, she realizes the only man she can trust is Elijah. Now as her Leopard rises from within, Siena and Elijah share not only an animal instinct for survival—but a desire so raw and wild it may be the only thing that can save them.

– – – – –

2Penguins
Quick Reasons: this book is crap; what the HELL happened to your writing, Feehan?; I’m supremely disappointed; trigger warning: lots of abuse, both emotional and physical; I just… I don’t even know what the hell this is

There will be no favorite quotes section for this review, because the entire book is pretty much varying degrees of either “super loud, obnoxious, rude yelling and cruelty” or “sex scenes that did nothing for me.” I refuse to try to find even the most salvagable quotes in this book, because it’s pure crap and I’m not happy about it.

First off: Feehan, what the HELL happened to your writing?! You used to be good. I’ve been reading her books since I was a senior in high school; up until the last year, I’d NEVER ONCE been disappointed with her novels. But the last…three? four? I’ve read have only gone downhill. This one is particularly bad—the “hero” is an abusive, manipulative asshole; the romance doesn’t exist at all; I didn’t once connect to either of these characters or their story… Nothing about this book makes me want to read more of her stuff. Which is sad, because I already bought her other new release.

There’s a fine line between “sexy” and “abusive” – between “dominating” and “control freak.” Feehan stepped over that line with this book…and made the read absolutely awful. I’m not going to sugar coat it: all this book is, is angry abuse/emotional manipulation…and sex I didn’t care a lick for, because there was absolutely no passion in it. The characters are flat. Elijah is a HUGE douche canoe, and I don’t say things like that hardly ever…but I LOATHED him. I absolutely could not stand him, at all. What happened to “building up the passion,” Feehan? What happened to “sensual chemistry” and “sexy foreplay” and making your story COUNT for something?

I just… Ugh. This book is 400 pages of pure ick and stomach-churning yuck, and I don’t recommend readers new to Feehan’s paranormal worlds start with this—trust me, her earlier work is much better. This crap she’s been spouting lately? I don’t know what’s up with it, but I’m beginning to think perhaps she’s hit her writing wall. Maybe she just has nothing new to add. Maybe she needs to step back, stop publishing five plus books a year, and instead refocus on the morals I thought she started out wanting to keep in her writing: that sex isn’t everything. That dominating males don’t have to be asswads. That there IS still passion in romance.

I’m disappointed. And angry. I think I need to find a new favorite romance author…because Feehan’s just not doing it for me these days.

One thought on “A Review of Wild Cat (Leopard People #8), by Christine Feehan

  1. Pingback: Loved and Loathed (February 2016) – betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

