Loved and Loathed (January 2016)

bannerfans_16986559

January 2016

For those who don’t know, Loved and Loathed is my equivalent of a wrap-up and glimpse-ahead.

January proved an AWESOME reading month for me!  I loved way too many books, loathed absolutely none, and discovered some other awesome things in the midst of it all!  That’s… That’s a good thing, right?!

I also started actively seeking out more mid-grade novels to read, because I like breaking up the heavier, more emotional books with quick, moral-tastic ones!  (No, that’s not a real word.  Sue me.)  Feel free to recommend me some mid-grade reads, if you’d like!

Loved (5 Penguins)

The Steep and Thorny Way, by Cat Winters
The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, by Heidi W. Durrow
Vinyl, by Sophia Elaine Hanson
This is Where it Ends, by Marieke Nijkamp
Trick, by Natalia Jaster
Grayling’s Song, by Karen Cushman
The Gracekeepers, by Kirsty Logan
The Love that Split the World, by Emily Henry
Grumpy Cat, Volume 1, by Ben McCool

Loathed (1 Penguins)

None this month!


Loved Covers:

The Love That Split the World

The Gracekeepers

Inside Out & Back Again

Loathed Covers:

The Steep and Thorny Way

F*ck Love

Arena


Loved Music:


Anticipated February Releases:

(click the covers to go to goodreads!)

The Forbidden Wish

The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl from Everywhere, #1)

Kill the Boy Band

Firstlife (Everlife, #1)

Symptoms of Being Human

After the Woods

The Word for Yes

So, what do you guys think?  What books did you love or loathe in January?  What are you most looking forward to being released in February?  Did you miss, reach, or overshoot your reading goal?

Feel free to leave me your thoughts, comments, whatever below–or to do your own Loved and Loathed post, if you’d like!

Until next time, happy book-ing!

signature

9 thoughts on “Loved and Loathed (January 2016)

  1. Aaaah, what a great reading month you had. I’m in heaven just looking at the covers, even the “loathed” ones. ;). How was The Grace Keepers? You’ve got another book coming up that I want to read too, The Girl from Everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I LOOOOVED The Gracekeepers; I just finished it the other day, gave it 5/5 Penguins… ‘Course, I’ve been giving a lot of books 5/5 Penguins lately…so… XD

      Seriously though, it’s in my 5 Star Reviews linky thing if you want to find it. It’s one of the more… “poetic” reads I’ve found recently, the language is very heavy-handed and gorgeous (but can be hard to follow, if you don’t read a lot of poetry)

      Like

  2. Awesome reading month!

    What a weird coincidence. I have The Girl Who Fell from the Sky sitting unread on one of my shelves, and I have no clue where it even came from. Looks like I’ll have to add that to the TBR pile sooner than I thought. Also… I, too, am anticipating Gena Showalter’s upcoming release. I love her Lords of the Underworld series so much, but I never really ventured out into her other things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hah, these aren’t even ALL the books I read?! Like…just the ones I really really liked. I read 15, plus a graphic novel–it was all sorts of epical!

      I LOVE when books pop out of nowhere like that! It’s like, “world? are you trying to communicate with me?” Hopefully you enjoy it!

      I read her Alice in Zombieland series and just LOOOOVED her writing style and creativity, so…I guess now’s the time to experience others of her work, I guess! XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • [/stands for a round of applause] That’s pretty darn amazing!

        Exactly that. I saw it on your list and thought, “Oh… looks familiar.” I had to actually go through all of my shelves looking for it, so it’s definitely in the pile now. I feel like I never really connect that she’s the one who wrote Alice in Zombieland even though that series has been recommended to be a bajillion times. I need to show her more love, obviously.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

