A Review of F*ck Love, by Tarryn Fisher

25828204

Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly. Unwittingly.
But not unprovoked.
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered,
and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend.
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

– – – – –

3 Stars
Quick Reasons: weird, weird read; unpredictable story; lots of drama, angst, and wishy-washy romance; hard-to-find suspension of disbelief; it was all a dream…and I’m not real impressed; pretty writing; some hard-hitting snippets of wisdom; a love I could almost taste

Huge shoutout to Deanna @ anovelglimpse for lending me this book on Kindle! I really appreciate it, even if I’m very confused right now about what I think.

I just?! I didn’t love this read, but I didn’t hate it. I lusted and loved the characters…and yet despised them all the same. I devoured this read, but was bored by all the wishy-washy BLECH. I just… I don’t understand what I’m feeling right now! Someone, please, help me out a little bit? I’ll adore you forever if you put it into words I can explain.

“Okay, but I’m trying to find myself.”

Greer grins. “That, my dear, is the scariest thing you’re ever going to do.”

“Why is that?”

“Because you might not like what you find.”

This book is weird—and I don’t mean the sort of weird I want to frame and hang upon my wall. It all starts with a dream…and I’m SO glad I can say, having finished, that the beginning is the ONLY dream, because if at the end it had been pulled out that it was all a dream I’d have been… Well, I wouldn’t have liked it. Still, the dream plays a huge role in this book, and I’m not sure that was really to anyone’s benefit. Because the dream… It acts as a sort of character growth, I guess, but… it also becomes the sole motivator in said character’s growth, and I’m not sure I’m okay with that in the end? It all seemed just a bit too unrealistic, to me, I guess.

Also, the characters. THE. CHARACTERS. I mean don’t get me wrong, I love them. I lusted for them. I rooted them on and giggled like nothing else and enjoyed the witty banter/snark. But?! I also loathed them? They’re just so freaking wishy-washy, and dramatic, and angsty, and… UCK. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for a good angst, but this book needed something to break up the emotional mess. Which is sad. I mean, shouldn’t that be the other way around? Shouldn’t the emotional mess be breaking up everything else?

If each of our lives represented a page in a book, happiness would be the punctuation. It breaks up the parts that are too long. It closes off some things, divides others.

There are, despite the weirdness and the overbearing angst, some really gorgeous snippets of wisdom found throughout! I found myself holding my breath, waiting for the gut-hitting, mind-boggling sections that leapt out like the sun from behind dark, thick clouds. Seriously—those snippets? Could change the world, they’re done so brilliantly.

And this was an emotional read. It reminded me, a lot, of a relationship I had in high school/college. But despite how quickly I was devouring this, it seemed to drag and drag. I think a lot of that had to do with the sheer amount of angst; it really made it hard to drop into this read, when all it is is drama after heartache after crushed hopes! There are entertaining moments…but in a book of emotional downpour, a few moments of entertainment sort of fall to the wayside.

Then Della drops something in the kitchen. A glass shatters along with my moment. Timing is everything when you’re about to tell someone you dreamed him into your heart.

So… Yeah, I’m confused. I’m confused about what I think of this read, how I feel about this read, how I feel about the characters. I’m just confused all around, which means this is, for the moment, getting a neutral rating. I may come back and change that at a future date. I’d still recommend (I think?) to lovers of drama, angst, and emotional romances. This is a weird, weird read… Too bad that’s all I can decide for certain about it!

5 thoughts on “A Review of F*ck Love, by Tarryn Fisher

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (#3) – betwixt-the-pages

  2. Pingback: January Wrap-Up – betwixt-the-pages

Leave a Reply

